

Lake County Illinois

Legislation Text

File #: 12-0211, Version: 1

Ordinance dividing the county into six districts for purposes of establishing representation districts on the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission (SMC) by county board members and municipal members, pursuant to the statutory authority and requirements of 55 ILCS 5/5-1062(b), and request its adoption.

- The SMC statutory legislation requires establishment of six districts within the county for the purposes
 of determining County Board and Municipal representatives, with one member from each group per
 district, making a total of twelve Commissioners.
- The County Board approves the District map by ordinance, and the map is in need of updating due to 2010 census data and new County Board district boundaries.
- The SMC has approved the boundary map after analyzing several boundary configurations using population, County Board, Municipal and watershed boundaries.

WHEREAS, pursuant to 55 ILCS 5/5-1062(b), where a county has more than six county board districts, the County Board is given and has authority to divide the county into not less than six areas of approximately equal population for purpose of determining representation on the Stormwater Management Commission; and

WHEREAS, the county board and municipal members of the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission have, utilizing 2010 census information, County Board Districts approved in June 2011, [effective date first Monday of December 2012], watershed and Municipal boundaries [as of November 13th, 2011] within Lake County, approved and recommended for enactment by this County Board a map (see attached Exhibit A) establishing areas for six districts to be used in determining representation on the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission; and,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED by this County Board of Lake County, Illinois that:

The county is hereby divided into six areas, as depicted on the map attached hereto as Exhibit A, for the purpose of determining representation of county board and municipal members on the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission ("SMC representation districts").

That, for use and information in implementing these adopted SMC representation districts, the attached Exhibit A provides, for each SMC representation district, a listing of the county board districts and municipalities with the majority of their respective population falling within each district.

This Ordinance shall become effective the first Monday of December, 2012, as provided by law.

DATED at Waukegan, Illinois on this 13th day of March, 2012.