Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

10:30 AM

or 10 minutes after the conclusion of the Law and Judicial Committee, whichever is later.

Assembly Room, 10th Floor or register to virtually attend at https://bit.ly/3qEPv8E

Health and Community Services Committee

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public can attend Lake County Committee and Board meetings (two options):

- (1) In-person attendance is on the 10th Floor of the County Administrative Tower (9th Floor, if necessary), 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.
- (2) Remote / virtual attendance through registration at: https://bit.ly/3qEPv8E

RECORDING: Meetings, to include Public Comment, will be recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The public will be afforded time to comment on matters related to the business of the County Board. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per comment. In general, Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented near the beginning of the meeting. Public Comment on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item. Individuals attending in-person or remotely may present their Public Comment during the meeting. Individuals not in attendance may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (10th floor)).

Public Comment will proceed in the following order: (1) Public Comment by individuals in attendance on the 10th Floor, (2) Public Comment by individuals who registered via the link on the front page of the agenda and are attending remotely / virtually, and then (3) written comments.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information:

- * Meeting: HCS Committee (Subject line for written Public Comment)
- * Name (REQUIRED)
- * Topic or Agenda Item # (REQUIRED)
- * Street Address, City, State (Optional)
- * Phone Number (Optional)
- * Organization/Agency/etc. Represented (If representing yourself, put "Self")
- * * *To view County Board Rules, click here: https://bit.ly/3idRdrV * * *

1. Call to Order

Chair Simpson called the meeting to order at 10:58 a.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Simpson led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call of Members

Present 6 - Vice Chair Altenberg, Member Casbon, Member Cunningham, Member Maine, Member Roberts and Chair Simpson

Absent 1 - Member Barr

Others present:

Abby Krakow, Communications

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development

Cassandra Hiller, County Administrator's Office

Eric Waggoner, Planning, Building, and Development

Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office

Janna Philipp, County Administrator's Office

Jim Hawkins, County Administrator's Office

Kevin Quinn. Communications

Kristy Cechini, County Board Office

Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office

Sandy Hart, Chair

Theresa Glazhofer, County Board Office

Dominic Strezo, Planning, Building and Development

Mike Wheeler, Finance

Mark Pfister, Health Department

Patrice Sutton, Finance

Sonia Hernandez, County Administrative Office

4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

5. Public Comment (Items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

6. Chair's Remarks

There were no Chair Remarks.

7. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business

^{*} Electronic attendance: All members were in-person

8. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA (Items 8.1 - 8.2)

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

8.1 22-0503

Joint resolution accepting the ESG from the Illinois Department of Human Services and authorizing an emergency appropriation in the amount of \$43,388 for grant administration and the implementation of the Homeless Management Information System (HMIS).

Attachments: Emergency Appropriation 2022-04 - EFSP.pdf

A motion was made by Member Cunningham, seconded by Vice Chair Altenberg, that this resolution be approved and recommended to the County Board agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Vice Chair Altenberg, Member Casbon, Member Cunningham, Member Maine, Member Roberts and Chair Simpson

Absent: 1 - Member Barr

8.2 22-0505

Joint resolution accepting the Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP) grant from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and authorizing an emergency appropriation in the amount of \$30,108 for grant and program administration.

Attachments: Emergency Appropriation 2022-04 - EFSP.pdf

A motion was made by Member Cunningham, seconded by Vice Chair Altenberg, that this resolution be approved and recommended to the County Board agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Vice Chair Altenberg, Member Casbon, Member Cunningham, Member Maine, Member Roberts and Chair Simpson

Absent: 1 - Member Barr

REGULAR AGENDA

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

8.3 22-0529

Community Development Annual Update.

Attachments: HCS Annual Update 2022

Eric Waggoner, Planning, Building and Development Director, thanked Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Director and staff for the amazing job they have done through the pandemic.

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Director, provided an annual update of the Community Development Department. Director O'Connell listed the tasks, projects and goals of the department. Director O'Connell also provided an overview of the homeless crisis response system data, the homeless solutions, along with the rental assistance and eviction prevention programs. The plans for the coming year were listed. Discussion ensued.

8.4 22-0388

Joint resolution approving Program Year (PY) 2022 Lake County Affordable Housing Program (LCAHP) grant awards.

Attachments: PY2022 AHP Funding Memo.pdf

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Director, provided an overview of items 8.4 and 8.5 for the two Community Housing grants.

A motion was made by Member Cunningham, seconded by Vice Chair Altenberg, that this resolution be approved and recommended to the County Board agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Vice Chair Altenberg, Member Casbon, Member Cunningham, Member Maine, Member Roberts and Chair Simpson

Absent: 1 - Member Barr

8.5 22-0389

Joint resolution approving the Program Year (PY) 2022 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations in the amount of \$707,409.

Attachments: Video Gaming Revenue Memo 2022.pdf

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Director, provided an overview of items 8.4 and 8.5 for the two Community Housing grants.

A motion was made by Member Altenberg, seconded by Member Roberts, that this item be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 6 - Vice Chair Altenberg, Member Casbon, Member Cunningham, Member Maine, Member Roberts and Chair Simpson

Absent: 1 - Member Barr

9. County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator's report.

10. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

11. Members' Remarks

There were no Member remarks.

12. Adjournment

Chair Simpson declared the meeting adjourned at 11:56 a.m.

Next Meeting: April 26, 2022

Meeting minutes prepared by Kristy Cechini

Respectfully submitted,

Health and Community Services Committee Chair