

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the current Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the Chair's Written Determination, this meeting will be held by audio and video conference.

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public can attend Lake County Committee and Board meetings (two options): (1) remote / virtual attendance through registration at the link on the front page of this agenda, or (2) in-person attendance (to view the virtual meeting on the 10th Floor of the County Administrative Tower, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.)

RECORDING: Meetings, to include Public Comment, will be recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The public will be afforded time to comment on matters related to the business of the County Board. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per Comment. In general, Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented near the beginning of the meeting. Public Comment on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item. Individuals attending in-person or remotely may present their Public Comment during the meeting. Individuals not in attendance may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (10th floor)).

Public Comment will proceed in the following order: (1) Public Comment by individuals who are attending remotely / virtually, (2) Public Comment by individuals in attendance on the 10th Floor, and then (3) written comments.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information:

- * Meeting: Reapportionment (Subject line for written Public Comment)
- * Name (REQUIRED)
- * Topic or Agenda Item # (REQUIRED)
- * Street Address, City, State (Optional)
- * Phone Number (Optional)

* Organization/Agency/etc. Represented (If representing yourself, put "Self")

* * *To view County Board Rules, click here: https://bit.ly/3idRdrV * * *

0. <u>21-1171</u>

Chair's determination of need to meet by audio or video conference.

Attachments: Determination - Chair Hart 7.30.21[379]

1. Call to Order

Chair Hart called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Vice Chair Cunningham led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call of Members

Present 7 - Member Clark, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Danforth, Chair Hart, Member Kyle, Member Pedersen and Member Vealitzek

*Electronic Attendance: All Members

Others Present: Alex Carr, Communications Anthony Vega, Sheriff's Office Brooke Lenneman, Attorney Carissa Casbon, County Board Cassandra Torstenson, County Administrator's Office Catherine Sbarra, County Board CN, Public Diane Hewitt, County Board Dick Barr, County Board Dulce Ortiz, Public Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office Gina Roberts, County Board Helen Fandrei, Public J. Aaltenberg, Public Jim Chamernik, Sheriff's Office Jim Hawkins, County Administrator's Office John Wasik, County Board Julie Simpson, County Board Karen Fox, State's Attorney's Office Kasia Kondracki, 19th Judicial Circuit Court Keith Caldwell, GIS Kevin Hunter, County Board Kristy Cechini, County Board Office Lauren Beth Gash, Public Marah Altenberg, County Board Mary Ellen Vanderventer, Recorder of Deeds Mary Mathews, Public Matt Coleman, GIS Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office Melanie Nelson, State's Attorney's Office

Michele Bauman, Public Mick Zawislak, Press Mike Tully, Forest Preserve Paras Parekh, County Board Paul Frank, County Board Peter Friedman, Attorney Peter Schoenfield, GIS Rosemary Heilemann, Public Steve Carlson, Public Susan Zingle, Public Sydney Dawson, County Board Office Theresa Glatzhofer, County Board Office Teri White, State's Attorney's Office

4. Addenda to the Agenda

Terry Wilke, County Board

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

5. Public Comment (Items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

6. Chair's Remarks

There were no Chair's Remarks.

7. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business to discuss.

8. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA (Item 8.1)

Approval of Minutes

8.1 <u>21-0867</u>

Minutes for May 7, 2021.

Attachments: Reapportionment 5.7.21 Final Minutes

A motion was made by Member Cunningham, seconded by Member Vealitzek, that the minutes from May 7, 2021 be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Member Clark, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Danforth, Chair Hart, Member Kyle, Member Pedersen and Member Vealitzek

REGULAR AGENDA

8.2 21-1476

Discussion and Direction.

Chair Hart stated that the following topics would be discussed: number of County Board Members; Members elected by district or at-large; Number of districts and if single-member or multi-member districts; method of electing County Board Chair; and method of compensation.

After a thorough discussion, the Committee's consensus was to: reduce the number of County Board Districts to 19, remain at single-member districts, elect a County Board Chair from within the County Board, and for County Board Members to be compensated by an annual salary.

8.3 <u>21-1453</u>

Discussion regarding 2020 maps and tables.

 Attachments:
 2020 Target County District Population

 Census2020
 AfricanAmericanPop

 2020 Municipal Population
 Census2020

 Census2020
 HispanicPop

Chair Hart explained that in 2011, the direction from the state was that all districts needed to have equal populations; whereas, in 2012, the state legislature edited the language to read that the population of all county board districts needed to be "substantially equal." Attorney Friedman noted that the goal is to try to get the district populations to be as substantially equal as possible.

Keith Caldwell, GIS Manager, presented a map pertaining to Lake County's African American population density, from the 2020 Census. Mr. Caldwell noted that the Zion and Waukegan areas seemed to have the largest populations of African American individuals in the County.

Mr. Caldwell then presented a map and table that compared the populations of all municipalities within Lake County, based on the 2020 Census data. Mr. Caldwell noted that the largest population decrease from the previous census took place in Bannockburn, while the largest population increase was in Volo.

Steve Carlson, former County Board Member, made a public comment regarding how the mapping process was shown to the Board in the past.

9. County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator's Report.

10. Executive Session

The Committee did not enter into Executive Session.

11. Members' Remarks

There were no Members' Remarks.

12. Adjournment

Chair Hart adjourned the meeting at 2:30 p.m.

Next Meeting: October 4, 2021

Minutes prepared by Theresa Glatzhofer.

Respectfully submitted,

Reapportionment Committee, Chair