Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

9:30 AM

SPECIAL MEETING. Meeting held by video conference. Register to virtually attend the meeting at http://bit.ly/3uhWkNg

Watch the meeting at http://lakecounty.tv/, Comcast Ch 18 or 30, AT&T Uverse Ch 99, & 18 N County St, Waukegan (10th FL)

Public Works, Planning & Transportation Committee and Financial and Administrative Committee

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the Written Determination of the Lake County Board Chair, this meeting will be held by audio and video conference.

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public wishing to attend remotely / virtually may: 1) register at the link on the front page of this agenda to attend by audio or video conference or 2) attend remotely on the 10th Floor of the Administrative Tower,

18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (limited to the number of persons in keeping with social distancing requirements, currently 10 people).

PUBLIC VIEWING: This meeting will be live-streamed at http://lakecounty.tv/ and on Comcast Channel 18 or 30 and AT&T Channel 99.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The public will be afforded time to comment on matters related to the business of the County Board. Individuals attending remotely / virtually may present their Public Comment during the meeting. Individuals not in attendance may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (10th floor)). Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented at the beginning of the meeting under "Public Comment." Comments on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per Comment.

Public Comment will proceed as follows: 1) Public Comment by individuals in attendance (on the 10th Floor and then those via the registration link) then 2) written comments in the order they are received. To view County Board Rules, click: https://bit.ly/3idRdrV.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information:

- * Meeting: PWPT & F&A Meeting Must be the Subject line for written Comment
- * Name: (Required)
- * Street Address, City, State (Optional):
- * Phone Number (Optional):

* Organization/Agency/etc. Represented (If representing yourself, put "Self"):

* Topic or Agenda Item # (if applicable) - followed by the written Comment

0.0 21-0069

Committee

Chair's determination of need to meet by audio or video conference.

Attachments: Determination - Chair Hart 12.30.20

1. Call to Order

Public Works Planning and Transportation Committee Chair Durkin called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Durkin led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call of Members

Financial and Administrative Committee

Chair Frank called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m.

Present 7 - Member Clark, Chair Frank, Member Pedersen, Member Simpson, Member Taylor, Vice Chair Vealitzek, and Member Wilke.

Present 7 - Member Clark, Chair Durkin, Member Maine, Vice Chair Pedersen, Member Vealitzek, Member Wasik and Member Wilke

Others present:

Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation

Jon Nelson, Division of Transportation

Kevin Carrier, Division of Transportation

Al Giertych, Division of Transportation

Michael Klemens, Division of Transportation

Michael Zemaitis, Division of Transportation

Mary Crain, Division of Transportation

Matthew Emde, Division of Transportation

Eric Waggoner. Planning Building and Development

Krista Braun, Planning Building and Development

Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office

James Hawkins, County Administrator's Office

Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office

Cassandra Torstenson, County Administrator's Office

Blanca Vela-Schneider, County Administrator's Office

Austin McFarlane, Public Works

Patrice Sutton, Finance and Administrative Services

Committee

Carl Kirar, Facilities and Construction Services
Sandy Hart, County Board
Mary Ross Cunningham, County Board
Marah Altenberg, County Board
Carissa Casbon, County Board
Gina Roberts, County Board
Judy Martini, County Board
Arin Thrower, Communications
Abby Scalf, County Board Office

4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

5. Public Comment (Items not on the agenda)

There were no comments from the public.

6. Chair's Remarks

Chair Durkin had no comments to give.

Chair Frank said his committee will hold their regularly scheduled meeting tomorrow to discuss regular business and thanked Gary Gibson, County Administrator, for holding this joint committee meeting to discuss the County option Motor Fuel Tax. He said he also appreciated the cooperation of the members.

7. Unfinished Business

8. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA

REGULAR AGENDA

8.1 21-0346

Presentation and discussion on County option Motor Fuel Tax (MFT).

Attachments: County Motor Fuel Tax 24Feb2021.pdf

Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation (DOT) Director, presented information to the Committees on a County option Motor Fuel Tax and requested staff direction on developing an ordinance to be brought before the Committees at their next regularly scheduled meetings.

Director Schneider provided background on an ordinance the County passed in 1992 to implement the Fair Share Road Improvement Impact Fee to generate revenue for transportation. He said this ordinance is no longer appropriate as to how to generate

Committee

revenue, and recommends repealing this ordinance should a county motor fuel tax be requested.

He referred to the County's Strategic Plan and its focus on improving infrastructure and reasons the County invests in transportation, including to Improve safety, quality of life, enhance economic prosperity, reduce congestion and the environmental value. He provided background on the revenue that DOT receives and how the funds are divided between preservation, modernization and expansion.

Director Schneider explained the County option Motor Fuel Tax, a local tax collected on motor fuel sales to provide supplemental funding for transportation-related projects.

McHenry, Kane, DuPage and Will counties have all enacted the tax.

Significant discussion ensued.

Direction Schneider explained how the MFT revenue will be used to address the \$1,700,000,000 backlog of projects that stems from Lake County's 2040 Transportation Plan.

Member Maine left meeting at 11:00 a.m.

After significant discussion, a consensus was reached and direction was given to staff to draft an ordinance to be brought to both Committees at their March 3 and 4 meetings to propose the County option Motor Fuel Tax at eight cents. A second ordinance also will be presented to the Committees to rescind the Fair Share Road Improvement Impact Fee Ordinance.

This matter was discussed.

10. County Administrator's Report

There were no remarks from the County Administrator's Office.

11. Executive Session

12. Members' Remarks

There were no comments by the members.

13. Adjournment

Financial and Administrative Committee
Chair Frank called the meeting to be adjourned at 11:16 a.m.

Public Works Planning and Transportation Committee Chair Durkin called the meeting to be adjourned at 11:16 a.m.

Minutes prepared by Abby Scalf.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Public Works, Planning & Transportation Committee Chair	
Financial & Administrative Committee	
Chair	