# Lake County Illinois Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351 **Meeting Minutes - Final** Monday, December 5, 2022 9:00 AM **County Board Reorganization** Board Room, 10th Floor or register for remote attendance at http://bit.ly/3i4cZ5F Lake County Board

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public can attend Lake County Committee and Board meetings (two options):

(1) In-person attendance is on the 10th Floor of the County

Administrative Tower (9th Floor, if necessary), 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois

(2) Remote attendance by registering using the link on the front page of this agenda.

PUBLIC VIEWING: This meeting will be recorded and live-streamed at http://lakecounty.tv/ and on Comcast Channel 18 or 30 and AT&T Channel 99.

**RECORDING:** Meetings, to include Public Comment, will be recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The public will be afforded time to comment on matters related to the business of the County Board. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per comment. In general, Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented near the beginning of the meeting. Public Comment on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item.

Individuals attending in-person or remotely may present their Public Comment during the meeting. Individuals not in attendance may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (10th floor)). In general, Public Comment will proceed in the following order: (1) Public Comment by individuals in attendance on the 10th Floor, (2) Public Comment by individuals who registered via the link on the front page of the agenda and are attending remotely and then (3) written comments.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information: Meeting: Lake County Board (Subject line for written Public Comment) Topic or Agenda Item #: (REQUIRED) Name: (REQUIRED) Organization/Entity Represented: (REQUIRED) ("Self" if representing self) Street Address, City, State: (Optional) Phone Number: (Optional) Email: May be REQUIRED for remote attendance

# CALL TO ORDER

Clerk Vega called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

### MOMENT OF SILENCE

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Clerk Vega led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# SWEARING IN OF BOARD MEMBERS

*Clerk Vega administered the Oath of Office to newly elected Board Members Knizhnik, Schlick and Campos individually.* 

Clerk Vega administered the Oath of Office to Incumbent Board Members as a group.

## ROLL CALL OF MEMBERS

Present 18 - Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Danforth, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Hunter, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Maine, Member Schlick, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Absent 1 - Member Pedersen

# PUBLIC COMMENT (ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA)

Public Comment was made by Ta-Nika McGee of Waukegan.

## NEW BUSINESS

#### 1 <u>22-1710</u>

Election of a Chair Pro Tem.

Clerk Vega opened the floor for nominations for Chair Pro-tem.

A motion was made by Member Frank, seconded by Member Clark, to nominate Member Vealitzek as Chair Pro Tem. Clerk Vega asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none. Clerk Vega declared that nominations were closed.

#### The motion carried by the following voice vote.

Aye: 18 - Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Danforth, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Hunter, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Maine, Member Schlick, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Absent: 1 - Member Pedersen

## 2 <u>22-1711</u>

Election of the Chair of the Lake County Board.

Chair Pro Tem Vealitzek opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Lake County Board.

A motion was made by Member Parekh, seconded by Member Wasik, to nominate

Member Hart as Chair of the Lake County Board. Chair Pro Tem Vealitzek asked if there were any other nominations.

A motion was made by Member Danforth, seconded by Member Maine to nominate Member Hunter as Chair of the Lake County Board. Chair Pro Tem Vealitzek asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none. Chair Pro Tem Vealitzek declared that nominations were closed.

A motion was made by Member Clark, seconded by Member Roberts that the Board adopt the Viva Voce voting method.

Member Danforth called for a roll call vote.

The motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye: 14 -Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Nay: 4 - Member Danforth, Member Hunter, Member Maine and Member Schlick Absent: 1 - Member Pedersen

The motion to elect Member Hart as Chair of the County Board carried by the following roll call vote:

- Aye: 14 Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik
- Abstain: 4 Member Danforth, Member Hunter, Member Maine and Member Schlick

Absent: 1 - Member Pedersen

Member Hart received affirmative votes of the majority of members present and no vote was taken on the remaining nominee.

## 3 <u>22-1712</u>

Election of the Vice-Chair of the Lake County Board.

A motion was made by Member Roberts, seconded by Member Knizhnik, to nominate Member Cunningham for the Vice-Chair of the Lake County Board. Chair Hart asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none. Chair Hart declared the nominations were closed.

Member Danforth requested a roll call vote.

The motion to elect Member Cunningham for Vice-Chair of the Lake County Board carried by the following roll call vote:

- Aye: 14 Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik
- Abstain: 4 Member Danforth, Member Hunter, Member Maine and Member Schlick

Absent: 1 - Member Pedersen

### 4 <u>22-1713</u>

Board action approving appointments to the Rules Committee.

Chair Hart appointed the Following Members to the Rules Committee: Member Frank to serve as Chair, Member Clark to serve as Vice-Chair, and Members Cunningham, Danforth, Pedersen, Vealitzek and Wasik to serve as Members.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, seconded by Member Clark, that the appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Aye: 18 - Member Altenberg, Member Campos, Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Danforth, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Hunter, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Parekh, Member Maine, Member Schlick, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Absent: 1 - Member Pedersen

# 5 <u>22-1714</u>

Set the time, date, and location of a Special Call County Board meeting for the purpose of adopting the County Board Rules, appointing Standing Committee members, making additional appointments, and conducting other County business as deemed necessary.

Chair Hart announced the next County Board Meeting will be Friday, December 16, 2022 at 9:00 a.m.

Chair Hart announced that the Forest Preserve Meeting will begin at 9:55 a.m.

# ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hart adjourned the meeting at 9:38 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Anthony Vega Lake County Clerk

Minutes approved