Lake County Illinois Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351 **Meeting Minutes - Final** Wednesday, November 4, 2020 11:00 AM **Special Meeting** Live-streamed at: http://lakecounty.tv/, Comcast Ch. 18 or 30, AT&T U-Verse Ch. 99, & 18 N County St, Waukegan (10th Floor) **Legislative Committee**

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the October 16, 2020, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the attached Written Determination of the Lake County Board Chair, this meeting will be held via audio and video conference.

PUBLIC VIEWING: This meeting will be live-streamed at http://lakecounty.tv/ and on Comcast's network, Channel 18 or 30 and AT&T Channel 99. Per the Governor's Disaster Proclamation, in accordance with section 120/7(e)(4) of the OMA, in-person attendance by members of the public will be available in the Assembly Room on the 10th Floor of the Administrative Tower at 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois and is limited to the number of persons practicable in keeping with social distancing requirements.

PUBLIC COMMENT: Public Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Comments received by 7:00 a.m. for items not on the agenda will be read at the beginning of the meeting in the order they are received or during consideration of an agenda item if it is related to a specific item. Comments received after 7:00 a.m. but before consideration of the final agenda item under Regular Agenda, may be taken at the end of the meeting. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per Comment pursuant to the County Board Rules of Order and Operational Procedures. All emailed Comments received but not read during the meeting will be included in the Committee's meeting minutes.

Email Public Comments to CountyBoard@lakecountyil.gov with the following:

* Title: Legislative Committee Public Comment

- * Name
- * Street Address (Optional)
- * City, State (Optional)
- * Phone (Optional)

* Organization/agency/etc. represented. (If representing yourself, put "Self")

* Topic or Agenda Item Number followed by Public Comment. Public in attendance on the 10th Floor of the Administrative Tower at 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois may provide Public Comment. Public may also leave a message with the County Board Office at 847-377-2300.

0.0 <u>20-0824</u>

Determination of need for meetings of the Lake County Board and Committees to be held by audio or video conference.

Attachments: Determination - Chair Hart - Rev 081320.pdf

1. Call to Order

Chair Wasik called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. Member Altenberg joined the meeting at 11:02 a.m.

- Present 5 Member Altenberg, Member Kyle, Member Rummel, Member Simpson and Chair Wasik
- Absent 2 Member Danforth and Vice Chair Martini

Others present:

Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office Cassandra Torstenson, County Administrator's Office Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office Jim Hawkins, County Administrator's Office Lynn Buccieri, County Board Office Blanca Vela-Schneider, County Administrator's Office Abby Scalf, County Board Office Adriane Johnson, State Senator Eric Waggoner, Planning Building and Development Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation Patrice Sutton, Finance and Adminstrative Services Dan Eder, Emergency Management Agency Kurt Woolford, Stormwater Management Commission Al Giertych, Division of Transportation Bob Glueckert, County Assessment Office Paul Frank, County Board Sandy Hart, County Board Mary Ross-Cunningham, County Board Jessica Vealitzek, County Board Derek Blaida, Strategic Advocacy Group

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Rummel led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

4. Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

5. Chair's Remarks

Chair Wasik had no remarks.

6. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

7. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA (Item 7.1)

Approval of Minutes

7.1 <u>20-1574</u>

Minutes from October 6, 2020.

Attachments: Legislative 10.6.20 Minutes

A motion was made by Member Simpson, seconded by Member Kyle, that Consent Agenda item 7.1 be approved. Motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye: 4 - Member Kyle, Member Rummel, Member Simpson and Chair Wasik

Absent: 2 - Member Danforth and Vice Chair Martini

REGULAR AGENDA

7.2 <u>20-1604</u>

Introduction of Senator Adriane Johnson.

Mary Ross-Cunningham, Lake County Board Vice Chair, introduced Senator Adriane Johnson. Senator Johnson spoke to the committee and stated she is looking forward to working with all of them. Chair Wasik welcomed Senator Johnson on behalf of the entire committee.

This matter was discussed

7.3 <u>20-1602</u>

Update and discussion on the State of Illinois 2020 Legislative Sessions.

Derek Blaida, Strategic Advocacy Group, discussed the Fair Tax Referendum and gave an update on the Veto Session. Discussion ensued.

This matter was discussed

7.4 <u>20-1603</u>

Resolution approving the Lake County Fiscal Year 2021 Legislative Agenda.

Attachments: 2021 Legislative Program Amended.pdf

Public Comments not read at November 4, 2020 Legislative Meeting

A motion was made by Member Kyle, seconded by Member Simpson, to put regular agenda item 7.4 on the floor for discussion.

Cassandra Torstenson, Assistant County Administrator, and Gary Gibson, County Administrator, read public comments regarding this agenda item. Public comments not read due to time limits are attached to these minutes.

Matt Meyers, Assistant County Administrator, reviewed the draft of the Lake County Fiscal Year 2021 Legislative Agenda. Committee members came to a consensus to make various amendments to the agenda. Substantial discussion ensued.

Member Vealitzek encouraged the committee to add support of the Bipartisan Route 53 Task Force to the Legislative Agenda as well as a sunset provision. Discussion ensued. A motion was made by Member Altenberg, seconded by Member Simpson, to amend and add Route 53 language as stated to Initiatives of Interest. Motion carried by a roll call vote.

A motion was made by Member Altenberg, seconded by Member Simpson, that regular agenda item 7.4 be recommended for adoption as amended to the regular agenda . Motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye: 5 - Member Kyle, Member Rummel, Member Simpson, Chair Wasik and Altenberg

Absent: 2 - Member Danforth and Vice Chair Martini

8. Executive Session

The committee did not enter into Executive Session.

9. Public Comment

There were no additional public comments.

10. County Administrator's Report

Matt Meyers, Assistant County Administrator, had nothing to report.

11. Members' Remarks

There were no remarks from members.

12. Adjournment

Chair Wasik adjourned the meeting at 12:20 p.m.

Next Meeting: To Be Determined

Meeting minutes prepared by Lynn Buccieri.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman

Vice-Chairman

Legislative Committee