Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

2:30 PM

Via Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84860463081 Via phone 1-312-626-6799 - Meeting ID 848 6046 3081

Housing and Community Development Commission
- Executive Committee

To comply with social distancing requirements and Governor Pritzker's stay-at-home order, this meeting will be held virtually.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by noon on Wednesday, May 13, 2020 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda.

Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to lwalley@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. ROLL CALL

Chairman Pedersen called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) Executive Committee (EC) to order at 2:30 p.m.

Guests: Amanda Levinson of Arden Shore, Michael Knight of CASA Lake County; and Cassandra Torstenson of the County Administrator's Office Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brenda O'Connell, Dominic Strezo, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez and Laura Walley

Present 6 - Janet Swartz, Ray Rose, Linda Pedersen, Steve Carlson, Jennifer Clark and Billy McKinney

Excused 1 - Dan Venturi

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1 20-0657

Approval of the February 12, 2020 Minutes

<u>Attachments:</u> 2.12.20 Draft Minutes.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner Rose, seconded by Commissioner Clark, to approve the February 12, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Chairman Pedersen had no remarks.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6. NEW BUSINESS

6.1 <u>20-0653</u>

Joint resolution authorizing 2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations in the amount of \$601,503.

Attachments: UPDATED 2020 VGR Recommendations

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator, and Eric Tellez, Community Development Planner

A motion was made by Commissioner Rose, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, to

forward the Joint Resolution authorizing the 2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations to the HCDC for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

6.2 20-0654

Amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) Assistance.

<u>Attachments:</u> Policies Standards Procedures- May 2020

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to forward the amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of Emergency Solutions Grants to the HCDC for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

7. STAFF REPORTS

There were no staff reports.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to adjourn the meeting at 2:48 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney