# **Lake County Illinois**

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Wednesday, November 18, 2020

3:30 PM

Via Zoom or Phone https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81204292481 (312) 626-6799 Meeting ID: 81204292481

**Housing and Community Development Commission** 

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the August 21, 2020, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the attached Written Determination of the Lake County Board Chair, this meeting will be held via audio and video conference.

PUBLIC VIEWING: Per the Governor's Disaster Proclamation, in accordance with section 120/7(e)(4) of the OMA, in-person attendance by members of the public will be available in the Conference Room at 500 W. Winchester Rd., Libertyville, Illinois and is limited to the number of persons practicable in keeping with social distancing requirements.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by noon on Wednesday, November 18, 2020 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda.

Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to communitydevelopment@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

#### 1. ROLL CALL

Chairman Rose called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) to order at 3:35 p.m.

Guests: Rob Anthony of Community Partners for Affordable Housing; Trisha Blythe of Youth Conservation Corps; and Julie Simpson

Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brenda O'Connell; Michele Slav, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez, Dominic Strezo, Patricia Nikolich, Colleen Edwards and Laura Walley

Present 14 - Michael Meehan, Ray Rose, Bethany Williams, Stephen Henley, Jennifer Clark, Linda Pedersen, Diane Hewitt, Mary Cunningham, Janet Swartz, Sharaka Leonard, Billy McKinney, Laureen Wilhoit, Marah Altenberg and Dan Venturi

Excused 2 - Anne Flanigan Bassi and Mary Dominiak

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

#### 2.1 20-1651

Approval of the October 14, 2020 Minutes

Attachments: 10.14.20 Draft Minutes HCDC

A motion was made by Commissioner Hewitt, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, to approve the October 14, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Williams,
Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
O'Connor, Commissioner Altenberg and Commissioner Venturi

#### 3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Chairman Rose congratulated Brenda O'Connell for her promotion to Community Development Administrator. The HCDC gave her a round of applause. Commissioner Cunningham offered her appreciation for all of Brenda's hard work for Lake County.

# 4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

#### 5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

### 6. NEW BUSINESS

#### 6.1 20-1645

Presentation and Discussion - Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Proposed Third Amendment to the Program Year 2020 Annual Action Plan (AAP).

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator

6.2 20-1646

PUBLIC HEARING - Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Proposed Third Amendment to the Program Year 2020 Annual Action Plan (AAP)

Chairman Rose requested a motion to open the Public Hearing.

Motion: To open the Public Hearing at 3:51 p.m.

Motion Made By: Bethany Williams Motion 2nd By: Marah Altenberg

Motion approved

There were no public comments.

Motion: To close the Public Hearing at 3:53 p.m.

Motion Made By: Steve Henley Motion 2nd By: Bethany Williams

Motion approved

#### 6.3 20-1647

Joint resolution approving a third amendment to the 2020 United States Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Annual Action Plan (AAP).

Attachments: 2020 AAP 3rd Amendment

2021-01 Emergency Appropriation.pdf

Chairman Rose asked if there were any questions on the proposed resolution, to which there was no response.

A motion was made by Commissioner Williams, seconded by Commissioner Cunningham, to approve the Joint Resolution approving the Third Amendment to the Program Year 2020 Annual Action Plan (AAP). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Williams,
Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
O'Connor, Commissioner Altenberg and Commissioner Venturi

## 6.4 <u>20-1648</u>

Approval of an COVID-19 addendum to the Program Year 2021 (PY21) housing, human services and public improvements grant applications.

Attachments: COVID-19 Application Addendum

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner

Venturi, to approve the COVID-19 addendum to the Program Year 2021 Housing, Human Services and Public Improvements grant applications. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 14 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit, O'Connor, Commissioner Altenberg and Commissioner Venturi

Not Present 1 - Commissioner Williams

#### 7. STAFF REPORTS

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator, reminded the HCDC that there were no scheduled December meetings and wished them a safe holiday season. She also informed them that the 2021 HCDC Meeting Schedule would be sent to them shortly.

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to adjourn the meeting at 4:04 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 14 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit, O'Connor, Commissioner Altenberg and Commissioner Venturi

Not Present 1 - Commissioner Williams