Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

3:30 PM

2nd floor Conference Room - Central Permit Facility
500 W. Winchester Road, Libertyville, IL
Housing and Community Development Commission

1. ROLL CALL

Chairman Rose called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) to order at 3:33 p.m.

Guests: Cassandra Torstenson of the County Administrator's Office Staff: Eric Waggoner, Jodi Gingiss, Dominic Strezo, Yareli Salgado, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez, Michele Slav and Laura Walley

Present 15 - Michael Meehan, Ray Rose, Anne Flanigan Bassi, Bethany Williams, Stephen Henley, Jennifer Clark, Linda Pedersen, Mary Cunningham, Steve Carlson, Janet Swartz, Sharaka Leonard, Billy McKinney, Laureen Wilhoit, Katlhleen O'Connor and Dan Venturi

Excused 2 - Diane Hewitt and Mary Dominiak

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1 20-0308

Approval of the January 15, 2020 Minutes

Attachments: 1.15.20 Draft Minutes.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner Venturi, seconded by Commissioner Williams, to approve the January 15, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 14 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit and Commissioner O'Connor

Not Present 1 - Commissioner Flanigan Bassi

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Chairman Rose introduced the HCDC's newest member, Kathleen O'Connor, who is the Libertyville Township Supervisor. Commissioner O'Connor gave a brief personal history and said that she was honored to have been invited to join the HCDC and looks forward to working with the Commission.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

5.1 <u>20-0301</u>

Discussion: Review of 2019 Planning Process for the 2020-24 Plan for the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) - "HUD Strategic Plan".

Attachments: Graphic 2020-24 HUD Strategic Plan Needs & Goals

Incorporating AFH into the Consolidated and Annual Action Plan

HCDC 2020-24 Funding Allocation Guidelines

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

6. NEW BUSINESS

6.1 20-0303

Presentation: Preliminary Results of the Point-in-Time (PIT) Homeless Count

Vice-Chairman Pedersen and Commissioner Cunningham spoke about their participation in the Point-in-Time Homeless Count. Vice-Chairman Pedersen encouraged the other commissioners to participate in the PIT Count in the future.

Presented by Yareli Salgado, HMIS Administrator; and Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

6.2 19-0647

Resolution authorizing the approval of the 2020 update to the 2014 Analysis of Impediments (AI) to Fair Housing Choice for program years 2020 - 2024, as required by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

<u>Attachments:</u> Al 2020 Update Final

Al Update PowerPoint

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

A motion was made by Commissioner Venturi, seconded by Commissioner Cunningham, to approve the resolution authorizing the approval of the 2020 update to the 2014 Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing Choice for program years 2020 – 2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi, Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit and Commissioner O'Connor

6.3 20-0302

Preparation for 2020-2024 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Consolidated Plan for Lake County Consortium

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

7. STAFF REPORTS

There were no staff reports.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner

Venturi, to adjourn the meeting at 4:42 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi, Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Henley, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit and Commissioner O'Connor