Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

3:30 PM

Via Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85890023611 or 1-312-626-6799

Meeting ID 858 9002 3611

Housing and Community Development Commission

To comply with social distancing requirements and Governor Pritzker's stay-at-home order, this meeting will be held virtually.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by noon on Wednesday, May 13, 2020 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda.

Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to Iwalley@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. ROLL CALL

Chairman Rose called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) to order at 3:38 p.m.

Guests: Amanda Levinson of Arden Shore; Michael Knight of CASA Lake County; Meghan Powell-Filler and Eric Foote of PADS Lake County; and Cassandra Torstenson of the County Administrator's Office

Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brenda O'Connell, Dominic Strezo, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez and Laura Walley

Present 15 - Michael Meehan, Ray Rose, Anne Flanigan Bassi, Bethany Williams, Jennifer Clark, Linda Pedersen, Diane Hewitt, Mary Cunningham, Janet Swartz, Sharaka Leonard, Billy McKinney, Laureen Wilhoit, Mary Dominiak, Katlhleen O'Connor and Marah Altenberg

Excused 2 - Stephen Henley and Dan Venturi

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1 20-0658

Approval of the April 29, 2020 Minutes

Attachments: 4.29.20 Draft Minutes.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner O'Connor, seconded by Commissioner Dominiak, to approve the April 29, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi,
 Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
 Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
 Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Chairman Rose thanked those in attendance for their time and patience as staff gains experience holding meetings within the virtual platform.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6. NEW BUSINESS

6.1 <u>20-0653</u>

Joint resolution authorizing 2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations in the amount of \$601,503.

Attachments: UPDATED 2020 VGR Recommendations

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator, and Eric Tellez, Community Development Planner.

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner Williams, to approve the Joint Resolution authorizing the PY2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations in the amount of \$601,503. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi, Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit, Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg

6.2 <u>20-0654</u>

Amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) Assistance.

Attachments: Policies Standards Procedures- May 2020

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Meehan, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, to approve the amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) Assistance. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi,
 Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
 Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
 Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg

6.3 <u>20-0655</u>

Joint resolution authorizing renewal of the HOME Investment Partnership Program Consortium Lake County, the City of North Chicago and the City of Waukegan have formed a consortium since 1991 in order to take a more regional, collaborative approach to meeting affordable housing needs.

Attachments: HOME Consortium Agreement FY21-23 - v01 (004)

Presented by Dominic Strezo, Environmental Project Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner Williams, to approve the Joint Resolution authorizing the renewal of the HOME Investment Partnership Program Consortium. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi,
 Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
 Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
 Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg

6.4 20-0656

Joint resolution authorizing an intergovernmental agreement for the provision of grant administration and management services for North Chicago Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds.

Attachments: Lake County N Chi Joint Agreement 2021-23

Presented by Dominic Strezo, Environmental Project Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Williams, seconded by Commissioner Dominiak, to approve the Joint Resolution authorizing an intergovernmental agreement for the provision of grant administration and management services for the City of North Chicago's Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi,
Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz,
Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit,
Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg

7. STAFF REPORTS

There were no staff reports.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Cunningham, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to adjourn the meeting at 3:56 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 15 - Commissioner Meehan, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Flanigan Bassi, Commissioner Williams, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Leonard, Commissioner McKinney, Commissioner Wilhoit, Commissioner Dominiak, Commissioner O'Connor and Commissioner Altenberg