Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

3:30 PM

10th floor Assembly Room
18 N. County Street, Waukegan

Housing and Community Development Commission

1. ROLL CALL

Vice-Chairman Pedersen called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) to order at 3:35 p.m.

Guests: Mary Ellen Tamasy of Community Partners for Affordable Housing; Shannon Hellen of Great Lakes Adaptive Sports Association; Kori Larson of Glenkirk; Anna Viveros and Maya Ziv-El of Prairie State Legal Services; Damaris Lorta and Laura Ramirez of A Safe Place; Trisha Blythe of Youth Conservation Corps; Sam Johnson-Maurello of Lake County Health Department; Socrates Rivers of YouthBuild Lake County; Eric Foote of PADS Lake County; Hester Bury of Northern Illinois Food Bank; Dulce Ortiz of Mano a Mano; Laura Sabino of Lake County Haven; Eddie Soto of Lake County Tech Hub; Beverly Mull of Scholars Soaring; Michael Edgar of Greater Waukegan Development Coalition; Ben Richards of the Waukegan Park District; Mahmood Mohuiddin of UMMA; Elizabeth Thielen of Nicasa; Joanne Lee of North Suburban Legal Aid; Nimrod Warda of the City of North Chicago; Alex Carr, Angela Panateri and Michele Slav of Lake County; and Angelo Kyle of the Lake County Board

Staff: Eric Waggoner, Jodi Gingiss, Dominic Strezo, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez and Laura Walley

- Present 11 Dan Venturi, Michael Meehan, Stephen Henley, Adam Didech, Jennifer Clark, Linda Pedersen, Diane Hewitt, Mary Cunningham, Steve Carlson, Billy McKinney and Laureen Wilhoit
- **Excused** 6 Ray Rose, Anne Flanigan Bassi, Bethany Williams, Mary Dominiak, Janet Swartz and Sharaka Leonard

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Commissioner Clark, seconded by Commissioner Cunningham, to approve the October 23, 2019 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Commissioner Henley,
Commissioner Didech, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson,
Commissioner McKinney and Commissioner Wilhoit

2.1 <u>19-1894</u>

Approval of the October 23, 2019 Minutes

Attachments: 10.23.19 Draft Minutes.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner Clark, seconded by Commissioner Cunningham, to approve the October 23, 2019 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Commissioner Henley,
Commissioner Didech, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson,
Commissioner McKinney and Commissioner Wilhoit

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Vice-Chairman Pedersen had no remarks.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6. NEW BUSINESS

6.1 <u>19-1891</u>

DRAFT PROPOSED FAIR HOUSING POLICY STATEMENT

<u>Attachments:</u> Fair Housing Policy Statement

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

A motion was made by Commissioner Henley, seconded by Commissioner Didech, to approve the proposed Fair Housing Policy Statement. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Commissioner Henley,
Commissioner Didech, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson,
Commissioner McKinney and Commissioner Wilhoit

6.2 <u>19-1892</u>

2020 Meeting Schedule of the Housing & Community Development Commission and its Advisory & Recommendation Committees (ARCs)

<u>Attachments:</u> 2020 Housing and Community Development Commission Meeting Schedu

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

6.3 <u>19-1893</u>

A celebration will be held to recognize the 2019 housing and community development grant recipients

Presented by Jodi Gingiss, Community Development Administrator

7. STAFF REPORTS

There were no staff reports.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Venturi, seconded by Commissioner Meehan, to adjourn the meeting at 4:10 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Meehan, Commissioner Henley,
Commissioner Didech, Commissioner Clark, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Ex-Officio Member Carlson,
Commissioner McKinney and Commissioner Wilhoit