Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Monday, December 3, 2018

9:00 AM

County Board Reorganization

Lake County Board Room, 10th Floor

Lake County Board

CALL TO ORDER

MOMENT OF SILENCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The County Clerk led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

SWEARING IN OF NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

Chief Judge Jay Ukena swore in the new and re-elected County Baord Members.

ROLL CALL OF MEMBERS

Present 21 - Member Carlson, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Maine, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Frank and Member Taylor

PUBLIC COMMENT (ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA)

There was no Public Comment

NEW BUSINESS

l 18-1497

Presentation of the Special Meeting and Certificate of Mailing Notice of the Special Meeting.

Attachments: CB Request for Special Call

CB Special Call Notice
LC News Sun 11.26.18

Daily Herald 11.26.18

Clerk Robin O'Connor read into the record the Presentation of the Special Meeting and Certificate of Mailing Notice of the Special Meeting.

2 18-1498

Election of a Chairman Pro Tem.

Clerk Robin O'Connor called for nominations of a Chairman Pro-Tem.

A motion was made by Member Didech, seconded by Member Vealitzek, to nominate Member Durkin. Clerk O'Connor asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none. Clerk O' Connor asked for a voice vote on the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 21 - Member Carlson, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Maine, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Frank and Member Taylor

3 18-1499

Election of the Chairman of the Lake County Board.

Chairman Pro-Tem opened the floor for nominations for the Chairman of the Lake County Board.

A motion was made by Member Frank, seconded by Member Cunningham to nominate Member Hart. A motion was made by Member Taylor, seconded by Member Martini to nominate Member Rummel. Chairman Pro Tem asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none.

A motion was made by Member Danforth to take a roll call vote with each member stating the name of the candidate they are supporting for Chairman. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Member Carlson, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Danforth, Member Maine and Member Taylor

Nay: 12 - Member Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member SImpson, Member Cunningham and Member Frank

A motion was made by Member Frank, seconded by Member Cunningham, that the nomination of Member Hart to the position of County Board Chairman, be approved. Motion carried by the following roll call vote:

- Aye: 13 Member Carlson, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Vice Chair Cunningham and Member Frank
- **Nay:** 8 Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Danforth, Member Maine and Member Taylor

4 <u>18-1500</u>

Election of the Vice-Chairman of the Lake County Board.

A notion was made by Member Wilke, seconded by Member Simpson to nominate Member Cunningham. A motion was made by Member Barr, seconded by Member Rummel to nominate Member Danforth. Chariman Hart asked three times if there were any other nominations. There were none.

A motion was made by Member Wilke, seconded by Member Simpson that the nomination of Member Cunningham to Vice-Chairman be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Vice Chair Cunningham and Member Frank

Nay: 9 - Member Carlson, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Danforth, Member Maine and Member Taylor

5 <u>18-1501</u>

Appointment of Rules Committee.

The Rules Committee Appointments are as follows:

Member Frank, Chairman
Member Carlson, Co-Chairman
Member Cunningham
Member Didech
Member Martini
Member Pedersen
Member Simpson
Member Vealitzek
Member Wilke

A motion was made by Member Cunningham, seconded by Member Kyle, that this item be approved. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 21 - Member Carlson, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Maine, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Frank and Member Taylor

6 <u>18-1502</u>

Setting the time, date and location of the next County Board meeting for Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 9:00 a.m., which will be held for the purpose of adopting the County Board Rules, appointing Standing Committee members, making other appointments and conducting other business as deemed necessary.

Chariman Hart announced that the Forest Preserve meeting will begin at 9:55 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Member Wasik, seconded by Member Simpson, that this Special Meeting of the Lake County Board be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 21 - Member Carlson, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Paxton, Member Pedersen, Member Rummel, Member Wilke, Member Didech, Member Barr, Member Martini, Member Wasik, Member Durkin, Member Vealitzek, Member Kyle, Member Clark, Member Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Maine, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Frank and Member Taylor

Respectfully Submitted,

Robin N	1. O'Connor	,
Lake Co	ounty Clerk	

Minutes approved: