# **Lake County Illinois**

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Tuesday, November 1, 2016 9:00 AM

Assembly Room, 10th Floor

Planning, Building and Zoning Committee

#### 1.0 Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

**Present** 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent 1 - Member Sauer

# Others present:

Audrey Nixon - County Board member

Amy McEwan - Deputy County Administrator

Cameron Davis - Assistant County Administrator

Eric Waggoner - Planning, Building and Development Department

Steve Crivello - Planning, Building and Development Department

Kurt Woolford - Stormwater Management Commission

Matt Meyers - Planning Building and Development Department

Brittany Sloan - Planning Building and Development Department

Terry Kuss - Planning, Building and Development Department

Ben Gilbertson - County Administrator's Office

Farrah Watson - Finance and Administrative Services

Gary Gordon - Finance and Administrative Services

**Present** 7 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart, Member Pedersen and Member Sauer

# 2.0 Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Weber read a request from member Bartels requesting to attend the meeting via teleconference due to an illness.

Member Peterson led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# 3.0 Approval of Minutes

This was approved The motion carried by the following vote: The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

# 3.1 <u>16-1091</u>

Minutes from October 4, 2016.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Member Pedersen, that this minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

# 4.0 Added to Agenda

There were no items added to the agenda.

A motion was made by Member Hart, seconded by Member Wilke, that this item be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

#### 5.0 Public Comment

There were no public comments.

#### 6.0 New Business

#### **Joint Committe Item**

# 6.1 <u>16-0958</u>

Presentation and consideration of proposed FY 2017 Budget (see complete recommended budget attached).

A motion was made by Member Hart, seconded by Member Wilke, to remove this item from the agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

#### **Stormwater Management Commission**

#### 6.2 <u>16-1079</u>

Joint resolution authorizing an emergency appropriation of Wetland Restoration Funds in the amount of \$370,215 for the purchase of 3.842 acres of wetland mitigation credit to replace 2.58 acres of isolated wetlands lost due to development impacts.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Member Hart, that this resolution be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. Motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

#### 6.3 <u>16-1084</u>

Joint resolution authorizing an emergency appropriation in the amount of \$260,095 in the Stormwater Management Commission (SMC) budget, Fund 212, to be reimbursed by the East Skokie Drainage District (ESDD) for a Wetland Mitigation Project in the City of North Chicago, Illinois.

Kurt Woolford presented details on the agreement with ESDD.

A motion was made by Member Hart, seconded by Member Wilke, that this resolution be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative

# Committee. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart

and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

#### 7.0 Executive Session

# 7.1 <u>16-1110</u>

Executive session to review closed session minutes pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2 (c)(21).

The Committee did not go into Executive Session.

#### 7.1A <u>16-1107</u>

Committee action regarding semi-annual review of closed session minutes.

Amy McEwan explained that the State's Attorney has recommended the Executive Session Minutes to remain closed. There are 3 sets of minutes, 2 are on pending litigation and the last one is related to a personnel item.

# A motion was made by Member Wilke, seconded by Member Carlson, that this item be approved. Motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer

# 8.0 County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator's report.

A number of staff will be working poling locations on Tuesday so any questions can be directed to Amy McEwan.

At F&A tomorrow the last final changes will be made to the Fiscal Year 2017 budget.

#### 9.0 Director's Report

Eric Waggoner shared with the Committee that Steve Crivello, Deputy Director and Chief Engineer, is retiring effective December 5, 2016. Eric shared highlights of Steve's successful career with Lake County. Committee members expressed gratitude for Steve's accomplishments and hands-on professionalism, and Deputy County Administrator Amy McEwan thanked Steve for his leadership over the years especially during the Department's difficult staffing transitions during the economic downturn.

# 10.0 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Member Pedersen, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote.

Aye: 6 - Chair Weber, Vice Chair Wilke, Member Bartels, Member Carlson, Member Hart and Member Pedersen

Absent: 1 - Member Sauer
Meeting minutes prepared by Terry Kuss.
Respectfully submitted,
Chairman
/ice-Chairman
_
Planning, Building and Zoning

Committee