Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

3:30 PM

10th floor Assembly Room
18 N. County Street, Waukegan, IL 60085

Community Development Commission

1.0 ROLL CALL

Vice-Chairman Pedersen called the Community Development Commission (CDC) meeting to order at 3:40 p.m.

Guests: Mary Ellen Saunders of ElderCARE @ Christ Church; Betsy Lassar of the Lake County Homeless Action Coalition; Kara Grubb of Prairie State Legal Services; Sarah Armstrong of Mano a Mano; Aida Segura, Chuck Ryan, and Vanessa Vargas of Most Blessed Trinity; Bob Shears of Youth Conservation Corps; Jacqui Hebein of Northern Illinois Bank; David Fries of Catholic Charities; Ezell Robins of the City of Waukegan; Pamela Jeffries of the City of North Chicago; and Steve Carlson of the Lake County Board Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brittany Sloan, Jodi Gingiss, Brenda O'Connell, Sarah Ciampi, Janel Gomez, and Jordan Bartle

- Present 8 Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Krapf, Commissioner Molek,
 Commissioner Hart, Commissioner Calabresa, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Rosenthal and Alternate Kellough
- **Absent** 8 Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Hewitt,
 Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swanson, Chairman Rose,
 Commissioner Armstrong and Commissioner Mancino

2.0 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1

Approval of March 12, 2014 Minutes

Attachments: CDC Minutes 3.12.2014.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner Krapf, seconded by Commissioner Russell, to approve the March 12, 2014 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Krapf, Commissioner Molek,
 Commissioner Hart, Commissioner Calabresa, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Rosenthal and Alternate Kellough
- **Absent:** 8 Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swanson, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Armstrong and Commissioner Mancino

3.0 CHAIR'S REMARKS

Vice-Chairman Pedersen announced that, during the April County Board meeting, the Board had passed a resolution to designate April as Fair Housing Month.

4.0 PUBLIC COMMENTS (Items not on the agenda)

Ms. Kara Grubb, of Prairie State Legal Services, thanked Lake County for designating April as Fair Housing Month. She invited the CDC to attend Prairie State's Fair Housing Resource Fair on April 29th, from 4:00 – 7:00 p.m., at Most Blessed Trinity, located at 450 Keller Avenue in Waukegan. Approximately 25 – 30 organizations are signed up to have informational booths at the event.

5.0 OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6.0 NEW BUSINESS

6.1

Revised Funding Recommendations for 2014 Emergency Solutions Grant.

Attachments: 2014 ESG Final Funding Recommendations Memo

Ms. Jodi Gingiss said that, due to an Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) program funding allocation greater than anticipated when formulating the proposed awards, staff had to revise those awards. Following the directions provided during the Homeless ARC's December meeting, Most Blessed Trinity's House of Peace project would be added to the Action Plan, as more than a \$10,000 increase was realized. The ARC's directions, and the resultant funding adjustments, were presented within the agenda packet memo. Staff requested approval of the award adjustments. Upon question from the CDC, Ms. Gingiss explained that the initial proposed awards were based on PY2013's allocation with no expected increase or decrease. Once the federal government determined the budget and calculated Lake County's portion for each federal program, staff was informed of the exact amount to be allocated, thereby requiring the adjustments.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hart, seconded by Commissioner Rosenthal, to approve the revised funding recommendations for the 2014 ESG program. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Krapf, Commissioner Molek,
 Commissioner Hart, Commissioner Calabresa, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Rosenthal and Alternate Kellough
- **Absent:** 8 Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swanson, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Armstrong and Commissioner Mancino

6.2

Public Hearing - Lake County Consortium 2014 Annual Action Plan

Ms. Gingiss stated that this Public Hearing was the second hearing for the 2014 Annual Action Plan (Plan).

The Public Hearing was opened at 3:47 p.m.

Ms. Sarah Armstrong, of Mano a Mano, thanked the CDC for the positive funding recommendation, and then spoke about the agency and the people that are provided services by the agency. She also announced that the new Executive Director of the agency would be Megan McKenna de Mejia.

Ms. Mary Ellen Saunders, of ElderCARE @ Christ Church, thanked Lake County and the City of Waukegan for recommending the agency for funding, and distributed information

about the agency's services.

Ms. Aida Segura and Ms. Vanessa Vargas, of Most Blessed Trinity, thanked the CDC for its work to help provide funds for the agency's House of Peace program, which provides shelter for undocumented women and children. Ms. Vargas informed the CDC about other services provided by the agency.

The Public Hearing was closed at 3:55 p.m.

6.3

Joint resolution approving the 2014 Annual Action Plan to accept the CDBG, HOME and ESG awards.

Attachments: 2014 Lake County Consortium Action Plan

Vice-Chairman Pedersen presented the request to approve the Joint Resolution, asking if there were any questions on this item, to which there was no reply.

A motion was made by Commissioner Russell, seconded by Commissioner Rosenthal, to approve the Joint Resolution to approve the 2014 Annual Action Plan, to accept the CDBG, HOME, and ESG awards, and to authorize the Board Chairman to execute all necessary documents. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Krapf, Commissioner Molek,
 Commissioner Hart, Commissioner Calabresa, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Rosenthal and Alternate Kellough
- **Absent:** 8 Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Hewitt, Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swanson, Chairman Rose, Commissioner Armstrong and Commissioner Mancino

7.0 STAFF REPORTS

Ms. Gingiss voiced Community Development's support of Laura Walley during her surgery and recuperation and offered condolences to Commissioner Janet Swartz on the loss of her mother.

8.0 ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Russell, seconded by Commissioner Molek, to adjourn the meeting at 3:58 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Krapf, Commissioner Molek,
 Commissioner Hart, Commissioner Calabresa, Vice-Chairman Pedersen,
 Commissioner Rosenthal and Alternate Kellough
- **Absent:** 8 Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Venturi, Commissioner Hewitt,
 Commissioner Cunningham, Commissioner Swanson, Chairman Rose,
 Commissioner Armstrong and Commissioner Mancino