Lake County Illinois Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351 **Minutes Report** Tuesday, January 10, 2012 8:30 AM **Assembly Room** Planning, Building and Zoning Committee

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Thomson-Carter called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m.

Present 6 - Vice Chair Mountsier, Chair Thomson-Carter, Member Carlson, Member Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent 1 - Member Hewitt

Others present:

David Stolman - County Board Chairman Barry Burton - County Administrator Amy McEwan - Deputy County Administrator Eric Waggoner - Planning, Building and Development Department Director Dusty Powell - Planning, Building and Development Department Steve Crivello - Planning, Building and Development Department Matt Meyers - Planning, Building and Development Department Gary Thompson - Planning, Building and Development Department Bill Effinger - Planning, Building and Development Department David Husemoller - Planning, Building and Development Department Megan Krueger - Planning, Building and Development Department Keith Devore - FAS Anita Patel - FAS Kristin Ihnchak - Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Jessica Simoncelli - Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning David Bergman - Lake County Beekeeper's Association Marvin Raymond - Regional Planning Commission Jess Ray - Mayor, Village of Mettawa Sarah Surroz - Lake County Beekeeper's Association

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Member Carey arrived at 8:33 a.m.

Chair Thompson-Carter asked Vice-Chair Mountsier to lead the group in the Pledge of Allegiance. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1

Joint PB&Z and F&A budget minutes from October 18, 2011.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Vice-Chair Mountsier, that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

> Aye: 5 - Vice Chair Mountsier, Chair Thomson-Carter, Member Carlson, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

3.2

Minutes from December 6, 2011.

A motion was made by Member Pedersen, seconded by Member Carlson, that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Vice Chair Mountsier, Chair Thomson-Carter, Member Carlson, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

5. ADDED TO AGENDA

There were no items added to the agenda.

6. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business to conduct.

7.0 NEW BUSINESS

UNIFIED DEVELOPMENT ORDINANCE

7.1

Presentation by Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) about the process of developing a Sustainability Chapter to the Regional Framework Plan.

- At the December 2011 meeting of the Committee of the Whole, the four-phase sustainability planning process was presented: 1) the Lake County Strategic Plan (2009); 2) the Promoting Sustainable Building and Development Practices in Lake County report (2011); 3) the Sustainability Chapter as update to Regional Framework Plan (2012); and 4) updates to ordinances and programs (2012-2013).
- For phase three, the Planning, Building and Development Department sought assistance in updating the Regional Framework Plan with a Sustainability Chapter and was awarded a Local Technical Assistance grant from CMAP in March 2011.
- A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and scope of services will be required by CMAP to provide staff technical assistance in the Regional Framework Plan update.
- CMAP will work with staff and the Regional Planning Commission on developing the MOU and scope of services for Committee review and County Board adoption.

Mr. David Husemoller from the Planning, Building and Development Department introduced Kristin Ihnchak and Jessica Simoncelli from the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP).

Jessica Simoncelli provided a brief introduction of the services and projects undertaken by CMAP in conjunction with local municipalities and area Counties.

Member Gravenhorst arrived at 8:38 a.m.

Kristin Ihnchak presented the scope of the Sustainability Plan on which CMAP will work with Lake County.

This item was presented.

7.2

Presentation by the Lake County Beekeepers Association about beekeeping practices and current UDO regulations.

Mr. David Husemoller, Planning, Building and Development Department, introduced Sarah Surroz from the Liberty Prairie Conservancy.

Ms. Surroz provided background information on her association with the Lake County

Beekeeper's Association (LCBA), and introduced Mr. David Bergan also from the LCBA.

Mr. Bergan provided an overview on the practice of beekeeping and the impact honey bees have on America's food supply. **This item was presented.**

7.3 DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Mr. Eric Waggoner, Director, Planning, Building and Development Department, stated that the development of the DiMucci property will be presented at the Regional Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals Meetings in the coming weeks. The Committee will be notified of when these meetings are scheduled to take place.

Mr. Bill Effinger, Planning, Building and Development Department, provided a report on the outcome of the first season of landscape waste burning following the revisions to the Lake County Public Nuisance Ordinance regarding this practice.

Mr. Effinger also presented a status report on the registration process for the construction of sheds, fencing, reroofing and residing projects within Lake County.

Mr. Eric Waggoner, Director, Planning, Building and Development, presented the Fee Refund Report for the period of January 2011 through November 2011.

Mr. Waggoner also provided a report on the Building and Engineering Divisions re-organization, effective January 11, 2012.

8. EXECUTIVE SESSION

There was no executive session.

9. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

Ms. Amy McEwan, Deputy County Administrator, stated that the 60% Recycling Program will be presented at PW&T over the next two months. The Members are welcome to attend the PW&T meetings to hear the presentations.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Thomson-Carter adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Minutes prepared by Megan Krueger.

Respectfully submitted,

Chair

Vice-Chair

Planning, Building & Zoning Committee