

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the current Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the Chair's Written Determination, this meeting will be held by audio and video conference.

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public can attend Lake County Committee and Board meetings (two options): (1) remote / virtual attendance through registration at the link on the front page of this agenda, or (2) in-person attendance (to view the virtual meeting on the 10th Floor of the County Administrative Tower, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.)

**RECORDING:** Meetings, to include Public Comment, will be recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The public will be afforded time to comment on matters related to the business of the County Board. A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per Comment. In general, Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented near the beginning of the meeting. Public Comment on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item. Individuals attending in-person or remotely may present their Public Comment during the meeting. Individuals not in attendance may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois (10th floor)).

Public Comment will proceed in the following order: (1) Public Comment by individuals who are attending remotely / virtually, (2) Public Comment by individuals in attendance on the 10th Floor, and then (3) written comments.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information:

- \* Meeting: Reapportionment (Subject line for written Public Comment)
- \* Name (REQUIRED)
- \* Topic or Agenda Item # (REQUIRED)
- \* Street Address, City, State (Optional)
- \* Phone Number (Optional)

\* Organization/Agency/etc. Represented (If representing yourself, put "Self")

\* \* \*To view County Board Rules, click here: https://bit.ly/3idRdrV \* \* \*

0. <u>21-1171</u>

Chair's determination of need to meet by audio or video conference.

Attachments: Determination - Chair Hart 7.30.21[379]

1. Call to Order

Chair Hart called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Kyle led the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 3. Roll Call of Members

Present 7 - Member Clark, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Danforth, Chair Hart, Member Kyle, Member Pedersen and Member Vealitzek

\*Electronic Attendance: All Members

Others Present: Alex Carr, Communications Ann Maine, County Board Brooke Lenneman, Attorney Carissa Casbon, County Board Carl Kirar, Facilities Cassandra Torstenson, County Administrator's Office Catherine Sbarra, County Board Celeste Flores, Mano a Mano Family Resource Center Diane Hewitt, County Board Dick Barr, County Board Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office Gina Roberts, County Board James Norman, Public Jim Chamernik. Sheriff's Office Jim Hawkins, County Administrator's Office John Wasik, County Board Julie Simpson, County Board Keith Caldwell, GIS Kevin Hunter, County Board Marah Altenberg, County Board Mary Mathews, Public Matt Coleman, GIS Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office Mick Zawislak, Press Peter Friedman, Attorney Rosemary Heilemann, Public RuthAnne Hall, Finance & Administrative Services Sydney Dawson, County Board Office Theresa Glatzhofer, County Board Office

### 4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

## 5. Public Comment (Items not on the agenda)

There was no public comment for items not on the agenda.

### 6. Chair's Remarks

Chair Hart thanked Members Danforth and Pedersen for adjusting their busy schedules in order to virtually attend this meeting.

### 7. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business to discuss.

### 8. New Business

## **REGULAR AGENDA**

# 8.1 <u>21-1528</u>

Ordinance setting the size of the County Board; setting the method of election of County Board Members; setting the method of election of the County Board Chairman; and setting the method of compensation for County Board Members.

Attachments: AN ORDINANCE SETTING THE SIZE OF THE COUNTY BOARD final

Chair Hart gave an overview of the proposed ordinance noting that: the number of County Board Members will be 19, the Members will be elected by single-Member County Board districts, the Chair of the County Board will be elected by the County Board Members, and the method of compensation for County Board Members will be by annual salary.

Chair Hart invited public comment for this item. Celeste Flores, from Mano a Mano Family Resource Center, asked questions about the reapportionment process in relation to how long the public will have for input on the mapping process before the final vote by the Board.

#### Discussion ensued.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Cunningham, seconded by Member Vealitzek, that this ordinance be approved by the Committee and recommended to the full Board for adoption. The motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye: 7 - Member Clark, Vice Chair Cunningham, Member Danforth, Chair Hart, Member Kyle, Member Pedersen and Member Vealitzek

### 9. County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator's Report.

#### 10. Executive Session

The Committee did not enter into Executive Session.

## 11. Members' Remarks

Member Pedersen noted that she would like the Committee to be able to see the map before it is voted on.

Member Danforth expressed that he would like Committee Members and the public to assist in the map drawing process, instead of responding to a map that has already been drawn.

Chair Hart explained that she is examining how reapportionment was executed in Lake County in the past and what the processes of the collar counties are, in order to determine how to move forward with the reapportionment process.

# 12. Adjournment

Chair Hart adjourned the meeting at 8:54 a.m.

# Next Meeting: TBD

Minutes prepared by Theresa Glatzhofer.

Respectfully submitted,

Reapportionment Committee, Chair