Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Minutes Report

Wednesday, September 15, 2021

2:30 PM

Via Zoom or Phone https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81105414596 Meeting ID: 811 0541 4596 (312) 626-6799

Housing and Community Development Commission
- Executive Committee

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the current Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the Board Chair's Written Determination, this meeting will be held by audio and video conference.

PUBLIC VIEWING: Per the Governor's Disaster Proclamation, in accordance with section 120/7(e)(4) of the OMA, in-person attendance by members of the public will be available in the 10th Floor Conference Room C of the Administrative Tower located at 18 N. County St., Waukegan, Illinois and is limited to the number of persons practicable in keeping with social distancing requirements. Public comments are welcomed and encouraged.

Public comments received by 1:00 on Wednesday September 15, 2021 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda. Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to communitydevelopment@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. Roll Call

In Chair Pedersen's absence, Vice Chair Venturi called the meeting to order at 2:30 PM.

Staff: Brenda O'Connell, Dominic Strezo, Michele Slav, Eric Tellez, and Joy Rice.

Present 4 - Billy McKinney, Ray Rose, Janet Swartz and Dan Venturi

Absent 3 - Sandy Hart, Linda Pedersen and Julie Simpson

2. Approval of Minutes

2.1 21-1405

Approval of the August 25, 2021 minutes.

Attachments: HCDC Exec 8-25-2021 MINUTES

A motion was made by Member Rose, seconded by Member McKinney, to approve the August 25, 2021 minutes. The motion carried by the following roll call vote:

Aye 4 - McKinney, Rose, Commissioner Swartz and Vice-Chairman Venturi

Absent 3 - Ex-Officio Member Hart, Chair Pedersen and Ex-Officio Member Simpson

3. Chair's Remarks

Vice Chair Venturi wished everyone a wonderful day and concurred with Brenda that today's meeting looked to be a brief one.

4. Public Comments (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. Old Business

There was no old business.

6. New Business

6.1 21-1380

Resolution approving the Third Amendment to Program Year 2021 (PY21) HUD Annual Action Plan (AAP).

- HUD requires the submission of an Annual Action Plan (AAP) and associated amendments to govern expenditure of federal housing and community development funding for each program year.
- The third amendment to the Program Year 2021 (PY21) AAP proposes the following changes:
 - Allocation of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program income (\$8,564.12) to the Youth Conservation Corps. (YCC) to support affordable housing rehabilitation and resale.
 - Reallocation of prior year CDBG funding (\$50,000) to support the environmental cleanup at 2771 Galilee Ave., Zion, IL.
 - Supplemental funding (\$288,000 CDBG and \$524,477.96 HOME) to support the acquisition and rehabilitation of scattered site properties from the Lake County Housing Authority (LCHA).

<u>Attachments:</u> PY21 AAP_Third Amendment.pdf

Emergency Appropriation 2021-10 - Program Income.pdf

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator. approved

Aye 4 - McKinney, Rose, Commissioner Swartz and Vice-Chairman Venturi

Absent 3 - Ex-Officio Member Hart, Chair Pedersen and Ex-Officio Member Simpson

7. Staff Reports

Brenda acknowledged that she did have some staff reports but she would hold them for the general Housing and Community Development Commission meeting at 3:30 PM as to not be repetitious.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 2:38 PM.

A motion was made by Commissioner McKinney, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 4 - McKinney, Rose, Commissioner Swartz and Vice-Chairman Venturi

Absent 3 - Ex-Officio Member Hart, Chair Pedersen and Ex-Officio Member Simpson