Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Minutes Report - Draft

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

2:30 PM

Via Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/5667841309 Meeting ID: 566 784 1309

Audio via phone: (312) 626-6799

Housing and Community Development Commission
- Executive Committee

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the August 21, 2020, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the attached Written Determination of the Lake County Board Chair, this meeting will be held via audio and video conference.

PUBLIC VIEWING: Per the Governor's Disaster Proclamation, in accordance with section 120/7(e)(4) of the OMA, in-person attendance by members of the public will be available in the 2nd Floor Conference Room at 500 W. Winchester Rd., Libertyville, Illinois and is limited to the number of persons practicable in keeping with social distancing requirements.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by noon on Wednesday, September 9, 2020 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda.

Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to lwalley@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. ROLL CALL

Vice-Chairman Venturi called the meeting of the Housing & Community Development Commission (HCDC) Executive Committee to order at 2:31 p.m.

Guest: Commissioner Marah Altenberg

Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brenda O'Connell, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez, Louis Figueroa and Laura Walley

Present 6 - Dan Venturi, Janet Swartz, Ray Rose, Steve Carlson, Jennifer Clark and Billy McKinney

Excused 1 - Linda Pedersen

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1 20-1239

Approval of the May 13, 2020 Minutes

Attachments: 5.13.20 Draft Minutes

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner Clark, to approve the May 13, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Vice-Chairman Venturi, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Vice-Chairman Venturi had no remarks.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6. NEW BUSINESS

6.1 20-1235

Appointment of Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) member Marah Altenberg to the Homeless Assistance Advisory & Recommendation Committee.

- Advisory & Recommendation Committees (ARCs) are responsible for reviewing
 applications or requests for funding; making recommendations of projects to be funded to
 the Executive Committee; and providing feedback to Community Development staff on
 scoring and ranking decisions in order for appropriate technical assistance to be provided
 to applicants.
- There are four standing ARCs: 1) Public Improvements ARC; 2) Affordable Housing ARC;
 3) Public Services ARC; and 4) Homeless Assistance ARC.
- The Homeless Assistance ARC has a vacancy and is in need of an appointment.

Attachments: ARC Membership 2020 Proposal

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Clark, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, to

approve the appointment of Commissioner Altenberg to the Homeless Assistance Advisory and Recommendation Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Vice-Chairman Venturi, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

7. STAFF REPORTS

Brenda O'Connell informed the Executive Committee about the progress-to-date of the COVID Housing Relief Program (CHRP), which is currently in its third month of operation. Residents have been assisted with about \$350,000 in rental payments and approximately \$7,500 in payments of gas and electric bills. Those currently receiving rental assistance may receive a maximum of six months of assistance, including arrears. CHRP partners include the United Way of Lake County's 211 system, which screens callers and helps them to find the right provider; seventeen rental partners, which process the applicants and provide direct financial assistance; and two legal partners, which provide landlord/tenant mediation to help prevent evictions.

Irene Marsh-Elmer and Brenda O'Connell then presented information on community need, homeless funding, the COVID Housing Relief Fund and next steps. The United Way's 211 system provides daily updates of the needs expressed by callers seeking assistance, which can be utilized to tailor programs to meet those needs. Irene Marsh-Elmer gave an overview of additional funding sources that will be received by Lake County through the State of Illinois, Lake County and federal sources. Homeless funding is being used to provide funding to PADS Lake County and A Safe Place to provide non-congregate shelter in motels and to provide funds to Catholic Charities for their Finish Line Fund, which assists in housing placement. Brenda O'Connell stated that Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) may be used to provide six months of consecutive rental assistance to those whose income is affected by COVID-19. Further, Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) funds may be used for additional eligible cost categories, such as landlord incentives, with no match requirements. She added that applications are due for ESG-CV2 funds on Monday, September 14th, with presentation to the Homeless Assistance Advisory and Recommendation Committee (ARC) on September 25th.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner Clark, to adjourn the meeting at 3:20 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Vice-Chairman Venturi, Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney