Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Minutes Report - Draft

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

2:30 PM

Via Zoom https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84860463081 Via phone 1-312-626-6799 - Meeting ID 848 6046 3081

Housing and Community Development Commission
- Executive Committee

To comply with social distancing requirements and Governor Pritzker's stay-at-home order, this meeting will be held virtually.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by noon on Wednesday, May 13, 2020 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda.

Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to lwalley@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. ROLL CALL

Chairman Pedersen called the meeting of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) Executive Committee (EC) to order at 2:30 p.m.

Guests: Amanda Levinson of Arden Shore, Michael Knight of CASA Lake County; and Cassandra Torstenson of the County Administrator's Office

Staff: Eric Waggoner, Brenda O'Connell, Dominic Strezo, Irene Marsh-Elmer, Eric Tellez and Laura Walley

Present 6 - Janet Swartz, Ray Rose, Linda Pedersen, Steve Carlson, Jennifer Clark and Billy McKinney

Excused 1 - Dan Venturi

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2.1 20-0657

Approval of the February 12, 2020 Minutes

Attachments: 2.12.20 Draft Minutes.pdf

A motion was made by Commissioner Rose, seconded by Commissioner Clark, to approve the February 12, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

3. CHAIR'S REMARKS

Chairman Pedersen had no remarks.

4. PUBLIC COMMENTS (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

6. **NEW BUSINESS**

6.1 20-0653

Joint resolution authorizing 2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations in the amount of \$601,503.

- In September 2016, the Board approved the Video Gaming Revenue policy that outlined procedures for: capturing video gaming administrative, legal, and enforcement costs; and evaluating and possibly funding social programs, projects (excluding capital improvements), and/or services that benefit Lake County residents.
- Application scoring includes up to 60 points (pts) that are distributed based on the following priorities: assessment, education and outreach for gambling addiction (60 pts.); clinical gambling addiction services (45 pts.); non-clinical gambling addiction services (30 pts.); and other behavioral health services (15 pts).
- In December 2019, Community Development received applications for Video

Gaming funds totaling \$984,250 for \$701,503 in available funds.

- Funding recommendations include:
 - o \$62,000 to Nicasa for gambling education and outreach;
 - o \$58,000 to Nicasa for clinical therapeutic services for gambling addicts;
 - o \$100,000 to United Way for 211 information and referral services;
 - \$5,000 to Consumer Credit Counseling Services of Northern Illinois for financial literacy services; and
- Multiple grants to increase the capacity of behavioral health service providers in Lake County: A Safe Place counseling (\$34,000); A Safe Place DCFS Co-location (\$15,000); Arden Shore (\$75,000); CASA Lake County (\$38,000); Catholic Charities (\$25,000); ChildServ (\$25,000); Josselyn Center (\$25,330); Lake County Health Department (\$25,000); One Hope United (\$18,00); PADS outreach (\$27,673); Youth Conservation Corp (\$35,000); Youth & Family Counseling (\$18,000); and Zacharias Sexual Abuse Center (\$15,500)
- The County Board allocated \$100,000 left unallocated by the application review committee to use for temporary lodging for homeless and populations that are unable to quarantine at home.

<u>Attachments:</u> UPDATED 2020 VGR Recommendations

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator, and Eric Tellez, Community Development Planner

A motion was made by Commissioner Rose, seconded by Commissioner Swartz, to forward the Joint Resolution authorizing the 2020 Video Gaming Revenue grant funding recommendations to the HCDC for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

6.2 20-0654

Amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) Assistance.

- The coronavirus pandemic has resulted in significant financial hardship in the community, including the current participants in rapid rehousing programming.
- Rapid Rehousing participants are literally homeless prior to program participation and are given rental assistance for the number of months needed to stabilize the household.
- Proposed policy allows rental assistance to be provided up to the 24-month statutory maximum on a month-by-month basis if there is an unforeseen financial hardship

<u>Attachments:</u> Policies Standards Procedures- May 2020

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Continuum of Care Program Coordinator

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner

McKinney, to forward the amendment to the Written Standards for Provision of

Emergency Solutions Grants to the HCDC for approval. The motion carried by the
following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney

7. STAFF REPORTS

There were no staff reports.

8. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Swartz, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to adjourn the meeting at 2:48 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 6 - Commissioner Swartz, Commissioner Rose, Chairman Pedersen, Ex-Officio Member Carlson, Commissioner Clark and Commissioner McKinney