

## SPECIAL RECOGNITION PROMOTING MARCH 2020 AS NATIONAL PROBLEM GAMBLING AWARENESS MONTH

**WHEREAS**, Lake County joins NICASA Behavioral Health Services, the National Council on Problem Gambling, and the Illinois Council on Problem Gambling in promoting March 2020 as National Problem Gambling Awareness Month; and

**WHEREAS,** problem gambling is a public health issue affecting millions of Americans of all ages, races, and ethnic backgrounds in all communities and has significant societal and economic costs; and

**WHEREAS**, in 2019, over \$100 million was spent in Lake County on video gaming, and since video gaming was adopted in Lake County, over \$450 million has been spent, according to the Illinois Gaming Board. Currently, there are over 300 establishments in Lake County with over 1,500 video gaming terminals; and

**WHEREAS,** promoting National Problem Gambling Awareness Month provides an opportunity to educate the public and policymakers about the social and financial effectiveness of services available for problem gambling; and

**WHEREAS**, problem gambling is treatable, and treatment is effective in minimizing harm to both individuals, business owners, and society as a whole; and

**WHEREAS**, Lake County residents can find resources, including counseling, treatment, self-help and support groups by calling 211, contacting the state's 24-hour helpline at 800-GAMBLER (1-800-426-2537), or sending at text to ILGAMB at 53342; and

**WHEREAS**, Lake County has led the way in funding various social service agencies to help prevent and mitigate the social costs of problem gambling.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RECOGNIZED,** that March 2020 is designated as National Problem Gambling Awareness Month in Lake County, Illinois; and

**BE IT FURTHER RECOGNIZED** that the Lake County Board advocates for responsible policymaking, research, prevention, and treatment of problem gambling and encourages all residents to have a dialogue about problem gambling.

**DATED** in Waukegan, Illinois on March 10, 2020.

Sandy Hart	
County Board Chair	