# **Lake County Illinois**

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Tuesday, November 5, 2019 8:30 AM

Assembly Room, 10th Floor

**Law & Judicial Committee** 

### 1. Call to Order

Chair Cunningham called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

**Present** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

Others present:

Sandy Hart, County Board Chair

Donna Jo Maki, County Administrator's Office

RuthAnne Hall. Finance and Administrative Services/Human Resources

Patrice Sutton. Finance and Administrative Services

Jim Chamernick. Sheriff's Office

Anthony Vega, Sheriff's Office

Joy Gossman, Public Defender

Cassandra Torstenson, County Administrator's Office

Teri White, State's Attorney's Office

Mike Wheeler, Finance and Administrative Services

Zach Creer, Finance and Administrative Services

Jeff Pavletic, State's Attorney's Office

Micha Thronton, Circuit Clerk

Michael Cuffee, 19th Circuit Court

Clyde McLemore, Black Lives Matter

Diane Winter, 19th Circuit Court

## 2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Kyle lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

## 3. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

#### 4. Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

#### 5. Chair's Remarks

Chair Cunningham announced former Chief Judge Bernard Drew passed away and asked for a moment of silence.

## 6. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

#### 7. New Business

There was no new business to discuss.

## **CONSENT AGENDA (7.1-7.4)**

## **Approval of Minutes**

#### 7.1 <u>19-1832</u>

Minutes from September 24, 2019.

Attachments: L&J 9.24.19 Final Minutes

A motion was made by Member Maine, seconded by Member Danforth, for the approval of minutes. Motion carried by voice vote.

**Aye:** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

### **PUBLIC DEFENDER**

### 7.2 19-1746

Report from Joy Gossman, Public Defender, for the month of September 2019.

Attachments: 09-19 Main

09-19 Main PTR 09-19 JUV Main 09-19 JUV PTR

A motion was made by Member Maine, seconded by Member Danforth, 7.2 through 7.4 be received and placed on the County Board Agenda. Motion carried by voice vote.

**Aye:** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

## **CIRCUIT COURT CLERK**

## 7.3 19-1715

Report from Erin Cartwright Weinstein, Clerk of the Circuit Court, for the month of September 2019.

Attachments: County Board Report FY19 - 09 September 101019

A motion was made by Member Maine, seconded by Member Danforth, 7.2 through 7.4 be received and placed on the County Board Agenda. Motion carried by voice vote.

**Aye:** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

## **SHERIFF**

### 7.4 19-1717

Report from John D. Idleburg, Sheriff, for the month of September 2019.

Attachments: Report from John D. Idleburg, Sheriff, for the month of September 2019.

A motion was made by Member Maine, seconded by Member Danforth, 7.2 through 7.4 be received and placed on the County Board Agenda. Motion carried by voice vote.

## **REGULAR AGENDA**

## **CORONER**

## 7.5 19-1850

Joint resolution accepting revenue from the Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago and authorizing an emergency appropriation in the amount of \$26,000.

Jim Hawkins, Deputy County Administrator, gave an overview of reimbursement from the Ann and Robert H. Lurie's Children's Hospital. The coroner will use the reimbursement for equipment, shelves, and trays for the morgue. Dr. Howard Cooper, Coroner arrived to answer questions. Discussion ensued.

A motion was made by Member Simpson, seconded by Member Kyle, that this resolution be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

#### **SHERIFF**

### 7.6 19-1808

Joint resolution amending rates for the Lake County Sheriff Deputies working off duty "Special Detail" for private business, individuals, and government units.

Attachments: 2020 New Proposed Special Detail Rate

Jim Chamernik, Sheriff's Department, gave an overview for the proposal. Mr. Chamernik explained what special duties are included for the Deputies. He also stated the rates are reviewed every five years. The suggestion was made to review the rates annually. Discussion ensued.

A motion was made by Member Hewitt, seconded by Member Maine, that this resolution be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. Motion carried by voice vote.

**Aye:** 7 - Chair Cunningham, Vice Chair Simpson, Member Danforth, Member Hewitt, Member Kyle, Member Maine and Member Paxton

#### 7.7 19-1859

Presentation on Lake County Criminal Justice Trends and Issues.

Attachments: Lake County Trends and Issues Report September 2019.pdf

Dr. David Olsen, Loyola University, gave a presentation on criminal justice trends and issues. Recommendations were made to reduce the jail population. There were five pilot counties: Winnebago, McHenry, Lake, McLean and St. Clair selected based on applications and letters of commitment from key stakeholders. The program launched in 2017 and will go to 2020.

A question and answer session followed the presentation.

## 8. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

## 9. County Administrator's Report

Jim Hawkins, Deputy County Administrator, had no report.

## 10. Members' Remarks

Member Danforth stated that the Lake County Sheriff's Shooting Range maybe under used. He requested data on the facility. Requests further discussion at a later date.

## 11. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Next Meeting:Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Meeting minutes prepared by Kristy	Cechini
Respectfully submitted,	
Chairman	-
Vice-Chairman	-
	-
	-
	-

Law and Judicial Committee