Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Final

Thursday, September 5, 2019

8:15 AM

SPECIAL MEETING

Assembly Room, 10th Floor - Courthouse and Administrative Complex, 18 N County Street, Waukegan

Financial and Administrative Committee

1. Call to Order

Chair Frank called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m.

Present 7 - Chair Frank, Vice Chair Vealitzek, Member Carlson, Member Didech, Member Pedersen, Member Wasik and Member Wilke

Others present:

Alex Carr. Communications

Zach Creer, Finance and Administrative Services

Anthony Cooling, Finance and Administrative Services

Mary Ross-Cunnningham, County Board

Danny Davis, Court Administration

Sandy Hart, County Board

James Hawkins, County Administrator's Office

Diane Hewitt, County Board

Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office

Doretha Johnson, Division of Transportation

Carl Kirar, Facilities and Construction Services

Chris Kopka, Human Resources

Ann Maine, County Board

Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office

Mark Pfister, Health Department

Andrea Rosen, Communications

Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation

Patrice Sutton, Finance and Administrative Services

Micah Thornton, Circuit Court Clerk's Office

Blana Vela-Schneider. County Administrator's Office

Michael Wheeler, Finance and Administrative Services

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Wilke led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

4. Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

5. Chair's Remarks

Chair Frank thanked the committee and staff for their efforts to hold a special meeting.

6. Old Business

There was no old business to conduct.

7. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA

REGULAR AGENDA

FINANCIAL & ADMINISTRATIVE

7.1 19-1415

Resolution accepting and placing on file an estimate of the annual aggregate tax levy and providing for the apportionment of estimated taxes across the various items for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 Appropriation Ordinance as will be adopted by the County Board of Lake County, Illinois (County Board).

Attachments: 2019 Tax Levy Calculation presentation.pdf

Property Tax 5 year History EAV chart 090519.pdf

Finance and Administrative Services Director Patrice Sutton provided a presentation regarding the annual aggregate tax levy and the apportionment of estimated taxes for FY 2020. She reported that the County faces a number of challenges with it's FY2020 budget which includes: (1) a significant increase in the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund rate, (2) departmental new program requests exceeding \$6,000,000, and (3) lower growth in estimated assessed values Director Sutton reviewed multiple scenarios and discussion ensued regarding the County's budget policy and its reserves. Staff will bring back an item related to the Reserve Fund Balance at the September 26, 2019 meeting.

Member Wilke moved, seconded by Member Didech, to approve the item.

Member Wilke, moved, seconded by Member Didech, to amend the language in the resolution to place on file an estimate of the annual aggregate tax levy to capture only new property growth. On a voice vote, the motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 7 - Chair Frank, Vice-Chair Vealitzek, Member Carlson, Member Didech, Member Pedersen, Member Wasik, and Member Wilke

A motion was made by Member Wilke, seconded by Member Didech, that this item be recommended for adoption, as amended, to the regular agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 7 - Chair Frank, Vice Chair Vealitzek, Member Carlson, Member Didech, Member Pedersen, Member Wasik and Member Wilke

8. Executive Session

The Committee did not enter into Executive Session.

9. County Administrator's Report

There was no report from the County Administrator's Office.

10. Members Remarks

There were no remarks from members.

1	1	Ad	iournment

Chair Frank adjourned the meeting at 8:48 a.m.

Next Meeting: September 26, 2019

Minutes prepared by Blanca Vela-Schneider.

Chair

Vice-Chair

Financial and Administrative Committee