Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 12:00 PM

Assembly Room, 10th Floor

Ad Hoc Legislative Committee

1. Call to Order

Co-Chair Hewitt called the meeting to order at 12:01p.m.

Present 4 - Co-Chairman Hewitt, Member Frank, Member Rummel and Member Werfel

Absent 1 - Co-Chairman Mathias

Others Present:

Judy Martini, County Board Member

Sandy Hart, County Board Member

Tom Weber, County Board Member

Ann Maine, County Board Member

Steve Carlson, County Board Member

Linda Pedersen, County Board Member

Aaron Lawlor, County Board Chairman

Barry Burton, County Administrator

Paul Fetherston, Assistant County Administrator

Conor Schultz, County Administrator's Office

Carla Wyckoff, Lake County Clerk

Jasmine Rottman, County Clerk's Office

Jennie Vana, Communications

Danya Abusoud, Finance and Administrative Services

Michael Schieve, Finance and Administrative Services

Adam Broad, Lake County Resident

Amy Orlov, Lake County Resident

Angela Bank, Lake County Resident

Barbara Adams, Avon Township

Bill Morris, Lake County Resident

Bub Kirby, Lake County Resident

Charlie Mullin, Lake County Resident

Chris Feeney, Lake County Resident

Daniel Didech, Vernon Township

Denise Neufeldt, Lake County Resident

Dorothy Skowron, Lake County Resident

Evelyn Bach, Lake County Resident

Gary Rampp, Vernon Township

Helen Hulitelin, Lake County Resident

Jennifer Litewski, Lake County Resident

Jeri Barr, Lake County Resident

Jim Mathie, Lake County Resident

Joe Herchenbach, Lake County Resident

John Barrington, Ela Township Assessor

Jon Altenberg, Lake County Resident

Joyce Ormond, Lake County Resident

Judith Paulsen, Lake County Resident

Maria Peterson, Lake County Resident

Mary Louie, Lake County Resident

Mike Louie, Lake County Resident

Paul Fetherston, Assistant County Administrator

Peggy Freese, Lake County Resident

Rebecca Tonigan, Cuba Township Assessor

Richard Woodruff, Lake County Resident

Robert Paulsen, Lake County Resident

Ronald Burns, Lake County Resident

Sharon Basovsty, Lake County Resident

Shirley Luebbers, Lake County Resident

Susan Malter, Lake County Resident

Theresa Bobko, Lake County Resident

Tim Kobler, Lake County Resident

Tom Healy, Deerfield Township Assessor

Tracey Ripa, Lake County Resident

William Bach, Lake County Resident

Yvonne Smith Canegan, Lake County Resident

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Werfel led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Approval of Minutes

3.1 18-0766

Approval of the May 23, 2018 minutes.

A motion was made by Member Rummel, seconded by Member Werfel, that the minutes be approved. Motion carried by voice vote.

Aye: 4 - Co-Chairman Hewitt, Member Frank, Member Rummel and Member Werfel

Absent: 1 - Co-Chairman Mathias

4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no items added to the agenda.

5. Public Comment

Public comments were declined by Dorothy Skowron, Jim Mathie, Angela Bank, Judy Paulsen, Sharon Basovsty, and Joyce Ormond.

Public comments were provided by Lake County Residents Jon Altenberg, Susan Malter, Denise Neufeldt, Bill Morris, Richard Woodruff, Tim Kobler, Yvonne Smith Canegan, and Joyce Ormond, in support of Senate Bill (SB) 2544 to transition the County's Chief Assessment Officer position to an elected official.

There was also public comment provided by Ela Township Assessor, John Barrington and Cuba Township Assessor, Rebecca Tonigan, in support of SB2544.

6. Chairman's Remarks

Co-chair Hewitt thanked all participants for joining the Ad Hoc Committee (committee) meeting. She noted that in the previous years County staff analyzed various means to help alleviate taxes in Lake County. One of those ways was to eliminate the township assessors and have one assessor oversee all. Discussion ensued.

7. Old Business

There was no old business to conduct.

8. New Business

8.1 18-0743

Determine the County Board's position on Senate Bill (SB) 2544.

County Board Chairman Lawlor provided an overview of the property assessment process and the history of SB2544. Discussion ensued.

Member Frank noted his appreciation for all the residents who have spoken on the issues presented at the meeting and elaborated on the importance of considering constituents' opinions. He also noted the importance of County transparency regarding the committee's limited authority. He fully supported the legislation and opposes the board's position to veto. Discussion ensued.

Member Rummel expressed disagreement with his colleagues and noted three primary issues with the legislation. He noted, of the 60 similarly situated counties, only Lake County is affected by this legislation. He also expressed issues with the legislative process and how it jeopardizes support of County employees.

Member Werfel noted his concern with the legislative process in Springfield and lack of language while the bill was being vetted and developed. Discussion ensued.

Co-Chair Hewitt inquired on the process of an amendatory veto. Chairman Lawlor noted the bill is pending review by Governor Rauner, that within 60 days of the bill being sent the Governor has the power to (a) allow the bill to become law, (b) veto the law, or (3) amendatory veto the bill providing a recommendation for a change in the bill for consideration by the legislature during the veto session. Discussion ensued.

Member Martini indicated that she was contacted by Senator Yingling, however, she was unable to take a position due to the lack of language. She expressed the necessity for taxpayers to decide on matters that effect their government and requests that the committee support SB2544. Discussion ensued.

Member Maine requested clarification on the action item language and to be provided with a copy prior the upcoming Committee of the Whole meeting.

Member Weber inquired on how changing the Assessor position from appointed to elected will help alleviate taxes in Lake County and whether staff has analyzed the cost of bringing another elected position to Lake County.

A motion was made by Member Rummel, seconded by Co-Chair Hewitt, that the Finance and Administrative Committee recommends that the County request an amendatory veto of SB2544 by Governor Rauner. Motion carried by voice vote.

Aye: 3 - Co-Chairman Hewitt, Member Rummel and Member Werfel

Nay: 1 - Member Frank

Absent: 1 - Co-Chairman Mathias

9. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

10. County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator Report.

11. Members' Remarks

There were no Members' remarks.

12. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 1:13 p.m.

A motion was made by Member Werfel, seconded by Member Frank, to adjourn. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: 4 - Co-Chairman Hewitt, Member Frank, Member Rummel and Member Werfel

Absent: 1 - Co-Chairman Mathias

Next Meeting: To Be Determined

Meeting minutes prepared by Danya Abusoud.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Co-Chairman	-
Co-Chairman	-
	-
	-
	<u>-</u>
	-
Additional antistation Committee	-
Ad Hoc Legislative Committee	