Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Meeting Minutes - Draft

Wednesday, February 9, 2022

2:30 PM

Via Zoom or Phone https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81066939365 Meeting ID: 810 6693 9365 (312) 626-6799

Housing and Community Development Commission
- Executive Committee

Pursuant to Section 7(e) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act, the current Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, and the Board Chair's Written Determination, this meeting will be held by audio and video conference.

PUBLIC VIEWING: Per the Governor's Disaster Proclamation, in accordance with section 120/7(e)(4) of the OMA, in-person attendance by members of the public will be available at the Central Permit Facility located at 500 W. Winchester Rd., Libertyville, Illinois and is limited to the number of persons practicable in keeping with social distancing requirements.

Public comments are welcomed and encouraged. Public comments received by 2:00 on Wednesday February 9, 2022 will be read at the appropriate time in the agenda. Please note: A total of 30 minutes will be permitted for Public Comment and no more than three minutes per public comment. All comments received will be included in the meeting minutes regardless of whether they are read aloud at the meeting.

Public comments shall be emailed to communitydevelopment@lakecountyil.gov with the following information:

- Subject title: Housing and Community Development Commission
- Name
- Organization
- Topic or agenda item

Meeting participants will also be able to post written comment in the meeting chat box.

1. Roll Call

Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator called the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) Executive Committee meeting to order at 2:44 p.m.

Guests: Cassandra Hiller of the Lake County Administrator's Office Staff: Brenda O'Connell, Eric Waggoner, Dominic Strezo, Eric Tellez, Damon Coleman, Pamela Jeffries, and Joy Rice

Motion: To appoint Commissioner Swartz as Chairman pro tem

Motion Made By: Commissioner McKinney Motion 2nd By: Commissioner Pedersen Motion approved.

Present 3 - Billy McKinney, Linda Pedersen and Janet Swartz

Absent 4 - Sandy Hart, Ray Rose, Julie Simpson and Dan Venturi

2. Approval of Minutes

2.1 22-0246

Approval of the January 12, 2022 minutes.

A motion was made by Commissioner Pedersen, seconded by Commissioner McKinney, to approve the January 12, 2022 minutes. Motion carried by the following roll call vote:

- Aye 3 McKinney, Chair Pedersen and Commissioner Swartz
- **Absent** 4 Ex-Officio Member Hart, Rose, Ex-Officio Member Simpson and Vice-Chairman Venturi

3. Chair's Remarks

There were no Chair remarks.

4. Public Comments (items not on the agenda)

There were no public comments.

5. Old Business

There was no old business.

6. New Business

6.1 22-0234

Joint Resolution approving the Sixth Amendment to the Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Program Year 2019 (PY 2019) Annual Action Plan (AAP).

Presented by Brenda O'Connell, Community Development Administrator and Dominic Strezo, Senior Grant Manager.

There were three proposed funding changes as follows:

\$100,000 of Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) funds from Program Administration to PADS Lake County - Emergency Shelter

\$100, 000 of Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) funds from A Safe Place - Rapid Rehousing to A Safe Place - Emergency Shelter

\$80,000 of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds from unspent rental assistance to United Way 211 - Referral services and program administration

approved

- Aye 3 McKinney, Chair Pedersen and Commissioner Swartz
- **Absent** 4 Ex-Officio Member Hart, Rose, Ex-Officio Member Simpson and Vice-Chairman Venturi

7. Staff Reports

There were no staff reports.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 2:56 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned.