

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE: The public can attend Lake County Committee and Board meetings (two options):

(1) In-person attendance is on the 10th Floor of the County

Administrative Tower (9th Floor, if necessary), 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.

(2) Remote attendance by registering using the link on the front page of this agenda.

RECORDING: Meetings, to include Public Comment, will be recorded.

PUBLIC COMMENT: Live public comment will be available for those attending in-person and through an electronic conferencing application (register via the link on the front page of the agenda). In general, Public Comment on items not on the agenda will be presented near the beginning of the meeting. Public Comment on agenda items may be presented during consideration of that item. Public Comment may proceed in the following order: (1) Public Comment by individuals in attendance and then (2) Public Comment by individuals attending remotely through an electronic conferencing application.

Individuals may provide written Public Comment that must be received by 3:00 p.m. the day prior to the meeting (emailed to PublicComment@Lakecountyil.gov or delivered to the County Board Office 18. N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois, (10th floor)). Written comments will be circulated to the Members, but not read aloud.

Individuals providing Public Comment will provide the following information: Meeting: Committee of the Whole (Subject line for written Public Comment) Topic or Agenda Item #: (REQUIRED) Name: (REQUIRED) Organization/Entity Represented: (REQUIRED) ("Self" if representing self) Street Address, City, State: (Optional) Phone Number: (Optional) Email: May be REQUIRED for remote attendance

1. Call to Order

Chair Hart called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Member Hunter led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call of Members

Present 16 - Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Danforth, Member Frank, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Hunter, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Maine, Member Parekh, Member Pedersen, Member Roberts, Member Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Absent 3 - Member Altenberg, Member Campos and Member Schlick

* Electronic Attendance: Member Danforth, Member Parekh, Member Maine, and Member Vealitzek

Member Frank joined the meeting at 8:44 a.m. Member Wasik joined the meeting at 8:48 a.m.

In Person:

Amy McEwan, CMAP Carl Kirar, Construction and Facilities Services Cassandra Hiller, County Administrator's Office Chris Blanding, Enterprise Information Technology Demar Harris, Workforce Development Eric Waggoner, Planning, Building, and Development Erin Aleman, CMAP Gary Gibson, County Administrator's Office Jim Hawkins, County Administrator's Office Jolanda Dinkins, County Board Office Jon Nelson, Division of Transportation Kevin Carrier, Division of Transportation Kristy Cechini, County Board Office Laura Wilkison, CMAP Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation Tammy Chatman, Communications

Electronically: Adam Krueger, Finance Austin McFarlane, Public Works Brenda O'Connell, Planning, Building, and Development Jim Chamernik, Sheriff's Office Jo Gravitter, State's Attorney's Office Joel Sensenig, Public Works John Light, Human Resources Joy Gossman, Public Defender Krista Kennedy, Finance Kurt Woolford, Stormwater Management Mary Crain, Division of Transportation Michelle Kennedy, Berry Dunn Mike Klemens, Division of Transportation Patrice Sutton, Finance RuthAnne Hall, Purchasing Sonia Hernandez, County Administrator's Office Sam Johnson, Health Department ShaTin Gibbs, Finance Stacey Krzywanos, Division of Transportation Stephen Newton, Coroner's Office Theresa Glatzhofer, County Board Office Todd Schroeder, 19th Judicial Circuit Court Walter Willis, Solid Waste Agency of Lake County

4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

5. Public Comment (Items not on the agenda)

There were no comments from the public.

6. Chair's Remarks

There were no remarks from the Chair.

7. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business to discuss.

8. New Business

CONSENT AGENDA (Item 8.1)

MINUTES

8.1 <u>23-1252</u>

Committee action approving the Committee of the Whole minutes from August 8, 2023.

Attachments: COW 8.8.23 Final Minutes

A motion was made by Member Clark, seconded by Member Hewitt, that these minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

- Aye: 14 Member Casbon, Member Clark, Vice Chair Ross Cunningham, Member Danforth, Chair Hart, Member Hewitt, Member Hunter, Member Knizhnik, Member Kyle, Member Maine, Member Parekh, Member Pedersen, Member Roberts and Member Vealitzek
- Absent: 3 Member Altenberg, Member Campos and Member Schlick
- Not Present: 2 Member Frank and Member Wasik

REGULAR AGENDA

8.2 <u>23-1253</u>

Review and discussion related to the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning's (CMAP) recommended Plan of Action for Regional Transit based on the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) Fiscal Cliff.

Attachments: CMAP PART Presentation 9.8.23

Erin Aleman, CMAP, presented on the recommended Plan of Action for Regional Transit based on the Region Transportation Authority Fiscal Cliff. Discussion ensued.

Member Frank joined the meeting at 8:44 a.m.

Member Wasik joined the meeting at 8:48 a.m.

8.3 <u>23-1301</u>

Review of Proposed 2023 Strategic Plan.

Attachments: Lake County Strategic Plan Adoption Slide Deck_Sept 7 with changes

Lake County Strategic Plan September 7 Final Clean Version

Lake County Strategic Plan_September 7 Final Redlined Version

Michelle Kennedy, Berry Dunn, reviewed the 2023 proposed Strategic Plan. Discussion ensued.

9. County Administrator's Report

Gary Gibson, County Administrator, reported on a new grant through the State of Illinois for people seeking asylum passing through Lake County and that a resolution will be on Tuesday's Board agenda. Discussion ensued.

10. Executive Session

The Committee did not enter into Executive Session.

11. Members' Remarks

Vice-Chair Cunningham remarked on a recent engagement with a homeless constituent.

12. Adjournment

Chair Hart declared the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Next Meeting: October 6, 2023

Meeting minutes prepared by Kristy Cechini.