Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



Minutes Report

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

8:30 AM

Assembly Room

Planning, Building and Zoning Committee

1. CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chair Mountsier called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

Present 6 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member

Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent 1 - Chair Thomson-Carter

Others present:

Amy McEwan - Deputy Assistant County Administrator

Gary Gordon - Director, OMB

Mike Warner - Director Stormwater Management Commission

Eric Waggoner - Director Stormwater Management Commission

Steve Crivello - Planning, Building and Development Department

Dusty Powell - Planning, Building and Development Department

Kurt Woolford - Stormwater Management Commission

Bill Effinger- Planning, Building and Development Department

Brittany Albrecht-Sloan- Planning, Building and Development Department

Eric Tooke- Planning, Building and Development Department

Megan Krueger- Planning, Building and Development Department

Anita Patel - FAS

Patrice Sutton Burger - FAS

Nick Sauer - County Board Candidate

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Vice-Chair Mountsier lead the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.1

Minutes from June 5, 2012.

A motion was made by Member Hewitt, seconded by Member Pedersen, that the minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 2 - Chair Thomson-Carter and Member Gravenhorst

4. ADDED TO AGENDA

There were no items added to the agenda.

5. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

6. OLD BUSINESS

6.1

Resolution to approve the proposed text amendments to the Unified Development Ordinance.

 Following an initial Planning, Building and Zoning Committee review, the County Board directed the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) on April 24, 2012 to conduct a public hearing on a series of proposed amendments to the UDO.

- The amendments consist of substantive and housekeeping modifications.
- Both the Regional Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals unanimously recommended approval of the amendments.

Presented by Dusty Powell, Eric Tooke and Bill Effinger, Planning, Building and Development Department.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Member Pedersen, that this item be recommended for adoption to the regular agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 2 - Chair Thomson-Carter and Member Gravenhorst

6.2

Ordinance amending the Watershed Development Ordinance (WDO).

- In 2007, the Stormwater Management Commission (SMC) embarked on the process to review the WDO and make recommendations on various updates.
- A Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), comprised of representatives from municipalities, county agencies, developers/property owners, and environmental organizations, convened to review and consider the proposed amendments with staff.
- SMC and the TAC had 58 meetings to develop language addressing several categories of needed changes.
- A total of 94 amendments are recommended by SMC addressing FEMA, IEPA, and NPDES mandates; floodplain; wetland; drain tile; and administrative-related clarifications and enhancements.
- The majority of the amendments are housekeeping, language clarifications, and mandatory or required changes.
- An economic impact analysis was conducted and reviewed with municipalities, the municipal league, and the development community.
- All 94 recommended amendments are being recommended for approval by SMC and PB&Z.

Presented by Mike Warner, Director, and Kurt Woolford, Stormwater Management Commission.

Member Gravenhorst arrived at 9:24 a.m.

A motion was made by Member Carlson, seconded by Member Gravenhorst, that the Watershed Development Ordinance, including amendments 35, 37, and 89, be recommended for adoption to the regular agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 1 - Chair Thomson-Carter

7. NEW BUSINESS

STORMWATER MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

7.1

Joint resolution authorizing an emergency appropriation to reduce the Stormwater Management Commission (SMC) budget in the amount of \$97,001 for the 2012 fiscal year.

- An emergency appropriation was previously approved for two grants.
- The revenue from the grants was already provided for in the 2012 budget.
- A reduction of \$97.001 in the SMC budget is required.

Presented by Mike Warner, Director, Stormwater Management Commission.

A motion was made by Member Carey, seconded by Member Hewitt, that this item be approved and referred on to Financial and Administrative Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member

Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 1 - Chair Thomson-Carter

PERMITS AND ENFORCEMENT

7.2

Resolution accepting the Annual Evaluation Report of the All Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan for unincorporated Lake County and directing Planning, Building and Development (PBD) to publish the report to meet recertification requirements.

- Lake County PBD participates in the Community Rating System (CRS), offered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which has secured flood insurance premium discounts of up to 20 percent for residents of unincorporated Lake County
- The CRS program offers flood insurance premium discounts to residents of communities that have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to protecting residents and reducing flood damages.
- The FEMA CRS Program requires annual recertification.
- An Annual Evaluation Report for the All Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan must be reviewed
 by the Lake County Board, posted on the Lake County website, issued in a press release,
 and submitted for recertification each year.

Presented by Brittany Albrecht-Sloan, Planning, Building and Development Department. A motion was made by Member Pedersen, seconded by Member Carey, that this resolution be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 1 - Chair Thomson-Carter

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Eric Waggoner, Director, Planning, Building and Development Department, provided a brief update on the DiMucci Development.

8. EXECUTIVE SESSION

There was no executive session.

9. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

Amy McEwan, Deputy Assistant County Administrator, reminded the Committee that small group meetings would be taking place this week, and she announced a special session of the Law and Judicial Committee to be held at 11:00 a.m. today, June 26, 2012, to discuss the plans for the court house.

10. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Member Gravenhorst, seconded by Member Hewitt, that the meeting be adjourned at 9:54 a.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Member Hewitt, Vice Chair Mountsier, Member Carlson, Member

Gravenhorst, Member Pedersen and Member Carey

Absent: 1 - Chair Thomson-Carter

Minutes prepared by Megan Krueger.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Chair	•
	-
Vice-Chair	
	•
	•
	-
Planning, Building & Zoning Committee	