# Lake County Illinois

Lake County Courthouse and Administrative Complex 18 N. County Street Waukegan, IL 60085-4351



# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Wednesday, October 16, 2024

10:30 AM

or 10 minutes after the conclusion of the Public Works and Transportation JOINT BUDGET HEARINGS, whichever is later.

Assembly Room, 10th Floor or register for remote attendance at: https://bit.ly/4808XRq

# Planning, Building, Zoning and Environment Committee

# 1. Call to Order

Chair Vealitzek called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

### 2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Vealtizek dispensed with the Pledge of Allegiance, as it was said earlier that morning at the other budget hearings.

### 3. Roll Call of Members

Present 7 - Member Altenberg, Member Frank, Vice Chair Pedersen, Member Roberts, Member Schlick, Chair Vealitzek and Member Wasik

Others Present:

Joint Budget Hearing with Financial and Administrative In Person: Sandy Hart, County Board Chair Ann Maine, Board Member J. Kevin Hunter, Board Member Diane Hewitt. Board Member Angelo Kyle, Board Member Paras Parekh, Board Member Mike Danforth. Board Member Jennifer Clark. Board Member Melissa Gallagher, Finance Patrice Sutton, County Administrator's Office RuthAnne Hall, County Administrator's Office Bailey Wyatt, Communications Theresa Glatzhofer, County Board Office Matt Meyers, County Administrator's Office Krista Barkley Braun, Planning, Building, and Development Eric Waggoner, Planning, Building, and Development Kurt Woolford, Stormwater Management Mike Prusila, Stormwater Management Nick Principali, Finance Vernesha Lawrence. Finance Michael Wheeler, Finance Sharene Gould Dulabaum, Stormwater Management Dominic Strezo, Planning, Building, and Development Brian Frank, Stormwater Management

Joint Budget Hearing with Financial and Administrative Electronically: Sara Knizhnik, Board Member Jon Nelson, Division of Transportation

October 16, 2024

Kristy Cechini, County Board Office Sonia Hernandez, County Administrator's Office Terri Kath, Enterprise Information Technology Ruby Bahena, Finance Mike Klemens, Division of Transportation Kathleen Rhey, Enterprise Information Technology Carl Kirar, Facilities and Construction Services Jerial Jorden-Woods. Finance Nicole Rogers, Finance Abby Krakow, Communications ShaTin Gibbs. Finance Kevin Quinn. Communications Joel Sensenig, Public Works Yvette Albarran, Purchasing Jim Chamernik, Sheriff's Office Elizabeth Brandon, County Administrator's Office Claudia Gilhooley, 19th Judicial Circuit Court Brea Barnes, Finance Nancy Rojas, Finance Eric Steffen, Planning, Building, and Development Janna Philipp, County Administrator's Office Michael Maslana, Enterprise Information Technology Erik Karlson, Enterprise Information Technology Jen Brennan, Communications Taylor Gendel, Planning, Building, and Development Lauren Callinan, State's Attorney's Office Jo Gravitter, State's Attorney's Office Heidie Hernandez, Enterprise Information Technology Darcy Adcock, Human Resources Mary Crain, Division of Transportation Daniel Eder, EMA Erika Osinski, Human Resources Kevin Carrier, Division of Transportation Jennifer Serino, Workforce Development Karl Walldorf, 19th Judicial Circuit Court Kevin Kerrigan, Division of Transportation Shane Schneider, Division of Transportation Jolanda Dinkins, County Board Office Julian Rozwadowski, Division of Transportation

#### 4. Addenda to the Agenda

There were no additions or amendments to the agenda.

#### 5. Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

### 6. Chair's Remarks

There were no Chair remarks.

# 7. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business to discuss.

### 8. New Business

# **REGULAR AGENDA**

# \*FINANCE\*

# 8.F1 <u>24-1358</u>

Presentation and consideration of proposed Fiscal Year 2025 Budget (see complete recommended budget attached).

Attachments: FY25 Recommended Budget

Chair Vealitzek dispensed with the presentation since it was presented at yesterday's budget hearings.

# \*STORMWATER MANAGEMENT\*

#### 8.B1 <u>24-1407</u>

Joint committee action approving the recommended Fiscal Year 2025 budget for Stormwater Management (FY25 Recommended Budget, pg. 210).

Items 8.B1 and 8.B2 were discussed and voted on together.

*Kurt Woolford, Executive Director of Stormwater Management, introduced Mike Prusila, Supervisor Watershed Planning, and Sharene Gould Dulabaum, Water Resources Professional. Executive Director Woolford provided highlights of the FY 2025 Stormwater Management budget. Discussion ensued.* 

A motion was made by Member Schlick, seconded by Member Roberts, that committee action items 8.B1 and 8.B2 be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

> Aye: 7 - Member Altenberg, Member Frank, Vice Chair Pedersen, Member Roberts, Member Schlick, Chair Vealitzek and Member Wasik

# 8.B2 <u>24-1408</u>

Joint committee action approving the recommended Fiscal Year 2025 budget for Lake County Regional Stormwater Management Projects Fund (FY25 Recommended Budget, pg. 258).

*Items 8.B1 and 8.B2 were discussed and voted on together. See consolidated notes under item 8.B1.* 

A motion was made by Member Schlick, seconded by Member Roberts, that committee action items 8.B1 and 8.B2 be approved and referred on to the Financial

### and Administrative Committee. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Aye: 7 - Member Altenberg, Member Frank, Vice Chair Pedersen, Member Roberts, Member Schlick, Chair Vealitzek and Member Wasik

### \*PLANNING, BUILDING AND DEVELOPMENT\*

#### 8.B3 <u>24-1409</u>

Joint committee action approving the recommended Fiscal Year 2025 budget for Planning, Building and Development (FY25 Recommended Budget, pg. 133).

*Eric Waggoner, Director of Planning, Building and Development (PB&D) introduced Krista Barkley Braun, Deputy Director and Zoning Administrator. Director Waggoner thanked his staff for their hard work, then gave an overview of the FY 2025 budget for PB&D. Discussion ensued.* 

A motion was made by Member Schlick, seconded by Member Altenberg, that this committee action item be approved and referred on to the Financial and Administrative Committee. The motion carried by the following voice vote:

Aye: 7 - Member Altenberg, Member Frank, Vice Chair Pedersen, Member Roberts, Member Schlick, Chair Vealitzek and Member Wasik

#### 9. County Administrator's Report

There was no County Administrator's Report.

#### 10. Executive Session

The Committee did not enter into Executive Session.

#### 11. Member Remarks and Requests

There were no remarks or requests from Members.

#### 12. Adjournment

Chair Vealitzek declared the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

#### Next Meeting: October 30, 2024

Minutes prepared by Theresa Glatzhofer.